Favorite Fiction of 2014

Looking back on the books I’ve read this year reminds me what an insanely good year this was for reading. 2014 brought new Murakamis and a new David Mitchell, and it introduced me to some fantastic authors I had never … Continue reading

Quotable Friday: from Cloud Atlas

“Belief is both prize & battlefield, within the mind & in the mind’s mirror, the world. If we believe humanity is a ladder of tribes, a colosseum of confrontation, exploitation & bestiality, such a humanity is surely brought into being … if webelieve that humanity may transcend tooth & claw, if we believe divers races & creeds can share this world as peaceably as the orphans share their candlenut tree, if we believe leaders must be just, violence muzzled, power accountable & the riches of the Earth & its Oceans shared equitably, such a world will come to pass. I am not deceived. It is the hardest of worlds to make real.”

– Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

Quotable Friday: from Cloud Atlas

This week’s quote is a short one, just in case you haven’t read enough about Cloud Atlas on my blog this week:

Cloud Atlas Sextet holds my life, is my life, now I’m a spent firework; but at least I’ve been a firework.”

– Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

(I promise I’ll stop posting Cloud Atlas things now. I know it’s been KILLING all of you. Ha!)

Book Review: Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

book review: cloud atlas by david mitchellCLOUD ATLAS
by David Mitchell

Random House, 2004
Paperback, 509 pages
Source: Purchased

David Mitchell’s Cloud Atlas is unlike anything I’ve ever read before. This story of humankind is told in six connected stories about the different manifestations of a single soul across time and place.

If that doesn’t sound weird enough for you, consider the structure of the novel; it is set up like a matryoshka doll, with each story told in halves. The novel begins with the first half of the first chronological story and ends with the second half of that story, and each story moves forward chronologically as you progress toward the center of the novel, where you find the complete sixth story. The structure looks like this: A-B-C-D-E-F-E-D-C-B-A. Continue reading