Giant Love for Giant Days by John Allison and Whitney Cogar

Giant Days, Vol. 1 and 2

[book-info]

I’m still a newbie to the comics game, but when I came across Giant Days, Vol. 1 at my job at the library, I couldn’t help reading the first few pages. And I was IMMEDIATELY hooked. I requested the first two volumes from the library and basically devoured them.

Giant Days follows three students who recently started university and quickly became best friends: Goth, statuesque Esther, whose powers for stirring up drama are truly remarkable; snarky, cynical Susan, the trio’s voice of reason and common sense; and sweet, home-schooled Daisy, whose naivety and optimism are truly refreshing. Together, the girls embark on a journey of self-discovery and reinvention as they find themselves away from home for the first time.

I really loved the way Giant Days portrays college life, enveloping everything from the unlikely friendships that develop, to the struggle to find a balance between socializing and schoolwork, to the colds and flus that spread like wildfire through the dorms. There are boy troubles and girl troubles, experimentation and questions of sexuality, drama-fraught dances, and study sessions fueled by pills of questionable legality.

But what I loved the most are the three heroins. Esther, Susan, and Daisy have such vivid, distinct personalities, and it was so much fun to see them play off each other. They each have a completely different approach to life and how they handle problems, but each young woman is smart, funny, strong, and insecure in her own way. Like Lumberjanes, Giant Days is a really wonderful depiction of female friendship. It’s just a ton of fun to read, and I can’t wait for Vol . 3 to come out in October. READ IT!

13 thoughts on “Giant Love for Giant Days by John Allison and Whitney Cogar

  1. I haven’t read the graphic novel you’re reviewing, but I have to say something about your new look: It’s amazing!!! So happy to have you back, on full reading and reviewing mode 🙂

  2. Okay okay! I will then! This sounds totally amazing, and I was just saying to my friend the other day that there aren’t enough books in this world that depict college life in a way that I recognize. Adding to the list!

  3. I REALLY need to read the second volume already because I adored the first one. Maybe it’ll be included in Comixology’s new Unlimited service? This is me hoping.

  4. I also just finished volumes one and two and could NOT shut up about how great they were! It made me actually laugh out loud which is pretty rare and, yeah everything about it is EXCELLENT.

  5. I still haven’t gotten into comics – I think I’m put off by how short they are – but the more reviews like this I read, the more I feel like I should! These sound great 🙂 I would love to read more books that include a realistic portrayal of college life. This is what I hoped for from the NA genre.

    • Do it, yo! Each volume takes less than an hour to read, so the time commitment is tiny. And you never know; maybe you’ll discover you really enjoy comics!

      Agreed on NA; I’m always looking for books that portray college/20-something life in interesting ways, and Giant Days does it with aplomb.

What say you?

