What I’m Reading Monday, October 19

Happy Monday, booklings! Can I take a moment to talk about how glorious the fall weather is around here? It’s chilly but not cold, the leaves have turned the most beautiful colors, the afternoon light has the most glorious golden quality, and the biggest sartorial choice I have to make each day is which flannel shirt I want to layer over a tee. I want it to stay like this always.

It was another fairly slow reading week for me, despite the fantastic quality of my books. I finished up The Tsar of Love and Techno by Anthony Marra, which was really wonderful; as with A Constellation of Vital Phenomena, I just wanted to start the whole book over again as soon as I finished.

I also read The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri, and you guysssss. It was so beautiful. I think I loved it even more than Interpreter of Maladies.

I unofficially participated in Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon on Saturday, but the day was pretty much a lost cause; I only spent four hours reading and passed out at 12:30. I didn’t even manage to read the insanely short The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman. Alas, I can’t win every time, and I can’t say I’m too disappointed with how I spent my day.

Next up is This Is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper!

What are you reading this week?

18 thoughts on “What I’m Reading Monday, October 19

  1. I’m glad you loved The Tsar of Love and Techno. I was worried it wouldn’t live up to the greatness of A Constellation of Vital Phenomena!

  2. I need to try some Marra! And – I have the biggest soft spot for This Is Where I Leave You…it was the book I read while in labor with my daughter and I still managed to love it despite the recurring pain I was in while reading! It was kind of perfect for that…absurd, funny, poignant. Hope it hits the spot for you!

  3. I’m a bit further south than you are, but the fall weather here is glorious as well. I didn’t feel all that bad that I spent Saturday hiking rather than reading. I did cheer at the Readathon for the first time ever, and I’m thinking that maybe I’ll participate in April as a reader. I hope your reading continues to be great!

  4. Agreed on the weather, though we had a taste of things to come recently—it was 24 degrees when I woke up the other day. Eek. Glad we got our heater fixed when we did!

    I still say your Readathon was a win. I know it’s corny, but it’s all about picking up the books, you know? And you did that! 🙂

    Also, I *will* read A Constellation of Vital Phenomena. It’s on my bookshelf (I own it!), and therefore I have no excuses.

  5. I absolutely love This Is Where I Leave You. I actually recommended it to my boss this morning! Tropper writes “manlit” like nobodies business. I laughed out loud, I had tear. It was just great. Hope you enjoy! And I’m totally with you on the amazing weather. I could stay like this for a very long time lol.

  6. The Namesake is one of my favorite books, and thankfully all of Lahiri’s work seems to be that good. Tropper’s books are always a lot of fun. Enjoy your reading!

  7. I’m still debating on the new Anthony Marra book. I did love Constellation but I just can’t seem to commit to this next one.

What say you?

