What I’m Reading Tuesday, October 13

Hello booklings! Columbus Day totally threw me off, and I didn’t manage to get my “what I’m reading” post up yesterday, but better late than never, right?

I’m still in a bit of a reading slump, but it has nothing to do with the quality of the books I’m reading. The books are wonderful, but I’m having trouble finding the motivation to sit down and read them. I finished up The Edible Woman by Margaret Atwood, which was really excellent. Nearly a week later, I still have a lot to mull over. I also made it halfway through The Tsar of Love and Techno by Anthony Marra, which is every bit as fantastic as I had been hoping. He somehow manages to deliver pithy one-liners while also tugging at all of my heartstrings as he writes about the ravages of war.

On audio, I’m slowly making my way through The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson. It’s great, but possibly not the best thing to listen to while running in the park on gorgeous fall days; I keep getting distracted by shin splints and pretty fall foliage, and I miss important parts of the story.

Here’s hoping things pick up a bit more next week!

What are you reading this week?

14 thoughts on “What I’m Reading Tuesday, October 13

  1. Distracted by running while listening to a spooky book, I can see that. Just don’t run at night while listening to that book or you might see goblins. I am reading Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell which is fascinating. He includes true stories in it, of people from soccer stars to geniuses and how they benefit from luck and talent both. Also reading Watchers in the Dark by Peter Robinson.

  2. Oooh, I’ve been craving something scary after reading and loving the new David Mitchell; I may have to check out The Haunting of Hill House! Being distracted by pretty fall foliage sounds nice 😉

  3. The Edible Woman was my first Atwood! I read it in college for a woman’s lit class – it’s so good! Glad you read it and enjoyed it too – it’s not one I see often. I need to read The Haunting of Hill House too – and it’s just perfect for this time of year!

  4. I’m starting to think Anthony Marra is going to be one of those authors I know will stun me, and break my heart to smithereens. I really enjoyed The Tsar of Love and Techno, but A Constellation of Vital Phenomena is still my absolute favourite! And the fall foliage during your run sounds wonderful!

  5. I really need to read A Constellation of Vita Phenomena. I own it but haven’t yet gotten to it! I hear you about audio books. I have been using them to listen to “lighter” reading material–humorous works, to be exact. Otherwise, I get too involved in them or as I’m driving I miss important stuff! Frustrating! 🙂

What say you?

