What I’m Reading Monday, September 14

Happy Monday, booklings! My future may be just as much of a mystery as it was last week (and has been for the last two months), but for the first time, I feel excited about the possibilities. There are actual possibilities! Choices to make, things that might finally go right. But I should probably stop there for fear of jinxing myself.

I also got a bit of my blogging and reading mojo back this week! I managed to get two regular posts up, and I actually finished a book! I’m still plugging slowly away at Jane Eyre, but after multiple weeks of reading no more than 30-40 pages per day, I decided I needed to mix things up. I picked up Tiny Beautiful Things for a re-read, and it was just what I needed. Cheryl Strayed is my spirit guide, and her words are always so comforting (when they’re not turning my life upside down). I also found a new favorite book in Blankets by Craig Thompson. I’ve been wanting to read it since I first became interested in graphic novels, so I was thrilled when a friend lent me a copy this week. I devoured it in an evening, and I’m going to need to buy my own copy so I can re-read it every goddamn day. SO MANY FEELS.

I’m not sure what’s up next, but if the last few months have taught me anything, it’s to embrace uncertainty.

What are you reading this week?

11 thoughts on “What I’m Reading Monday, September 14

  1. Good luck! I’m reading a neat unusual historical novel: Everyone Has Their Reasons, by Joseph Mathews, and listening to Stoner!

  2. I am happy to hear about the optimistic possibilities for you! I had a way better weekend then last week and caught up on 3 books I am reading! Finishing Beloved today at lunch is the plan!! This book should be read by every American!!

  3. Blankets is one of those books I’ve wanted to read over the years but then I don’t, and over time my oomphf has faded. Knowing it gave you all the feels is a great push, though! I might even own it already. Hmmm. And I have Tiny Beautiful Things partially finished on my e-reader.

  4. I should re-read Tiny Beautiful Things. I could use some of that Dear Sugar magic. And to imagine Cheryl Strayed calling me “Sweet Pea.”

  5. Good luck with whatever you’re choosing from! I’ve never been a Jane Eyre fan although I mean to give it another go one of these days. Tiny Beautiful Things was great, I can see how it would be comforting. I’m reading Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver, it starts out slow but I’m really getting into it.

  6. Sometimes it is just a tough life! Period! But…it sounds as if you’re on the upswing! That’s great! I finished The Silent Wife this week, am reading The Joy Luck Club and Gone With the Wind for Read-Alongs. I am halfway through Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng, and thinking it feels much like Jhumpa Lahiri’s writing! A great week!!

What say you?

