What I’m Reading Monday, July 20

Well, this week has been all over the place. The breakup is still rough and messy and sad, but I’ve been keeping busy with some wonderful friends. Although I spent most of the week moping around my apartment, I barely set foot inside the building this weekend; drinks with friends, an evening at the beach, and a day spent kayaking the Buffalo River kept me on the go and my spirits up.

I also did some pretty good reading; I savored When Women Were Birds by Terry Tempest Williams, which was exactly what I needed. I’m also about ten pages from the end of Fortune Smiles by Adam Johnson (coming in August from Random House).

I broke down and signed up for a free trial of Scribd this week, and I finally started reading Lumberjanes! I’m only three issues in, but it’s just as wonderful as everyone says it is. Girl power! I’m also about half an hour into the audiobook of Modern Love by Aziz Ansari, which is really interesting so far.

I’m not quite sure what’s up next. This week’s going to be pretty busy; I’m trying to find someone to sublet my apartment, and I think I’ll be moving my stuff back to my parents’ place. (Fun.) Then on Saturday, I’m heading to the Finger Lakes for a week of swimming, boating, and hammock reading with my family. I’m also crossing my fingers (ridiculously hard) for some good news this week.

What are you reading this week?

29 thoughts on “What I’m Reading Monday, July 20

  1. Sounds like you had a good week – love all the outdoor activities! And – I’ll be interested to hear your thoughts on Fortune Smiles. I wasn’t a huge fan of The Orphan Master’s Son, so passed on this one, but I know it’s getting a lot of buzz. Hope you get your good news this week 🙂

  2. I’m just seeing the news of your breakup, and I’m so sorry to hear that. It’s good that you have perspective, but it’s still a damn hard thing. Sending all the hugs to you, and I hope Lumberjanes helps boost your spirits. Enjoy your getaway, and I’m crossing my fingers for your good news.

  3. If we were in the same room, and if you were the huggy sort of person, I’d give you a big one. 😀 There’s nothing I, or anyone, can really say that will make you feel better about it all. It’s such a platitude but I do think time will help. It comes along and takes you with it and one day you’ll wake up and it will hurt a bit less. I’ll be thinking of you!

    How are you liking Fortune Smiles?? I loved his debut novel and I’m wondering about this one.

    Enjoy that week of swimming and boating. You deserve it 😀

    • I would definitely take a hug. Time, as well as keeping busy and seeing friends, is already helping. I cried through the whole first week, but I’m starting to feel better; I’m actually enjoying being able to do my own thing. It was nice to just decide, “I’m going to the beach with my friends,” and not have to ask someone else, “hey, do you want to go to the beach? I mean, we don’t HAVE to go.”

      I liked Fortune Smiles! I didn’t read his debut, but these stories are interesting in that they’re often from the point of view of characters who are really morally awful or ambiguous. Very mull-worthy.

  4. I read Lumberjanes recently too! What a fun story! How many issues have you read?

    Enjoy your week away. I hope it is amazing!

  5. I’m glad to hear you’ve got such good friends. I’ve been with my boyfriend for five years and counting, and I… well. If we broke up, things wouldn’t be pretty, and I don’t have too many social outlets where I’m living now. I’d probably end up booking it someplace else. 😉 I’m so happy that you’ve got people at your fingertips who are truly there for you.

    I hope you continue finding excellent reads and find some more relaxation and happiness when you visit your family! All my fingers and toes are crossed for that good news as well!

  6. I’m sorry to hear your sad news, Leah. But, it sounds like you’re doing just fine (considering), and I know you’ll pull through. Good luck with everything, and have a nice time rejuvenating at Finger Lakes!

What say you?

