What I’m Reading Monday, June 15

This week, you guys. So busy! I’ve been working hard, and I’m crossing my fingers that it will finally pay off soon. I also spent a lot of time walking around my beautiful neighborhood, had a much-needed girls night with two friends, and got to share a bit more of Buffalo with my parents, who stopped here for a night on their way west for a month-long road trip in their camper van. (They are the coolest, and they have definitely passed on their wanderlust and sense of adventure to me.)

Between all that, I didn’t get much reading done. (I feel like I’ve been saying that every week, but what can you do?) I’m really enjoying Naked at Lunch: A Reluctant Nudist’s Adventures in the Clothing-Optional World by Mark Haskell Smith. It is SO MUCH FUN. The jokes are on point.

Next up is Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret by Judy Blume for the #Blumealong, hosted by Kerry at Entomology of a Bookworm. I somehow made it through adolescence without ever reading a Judy Blume book (because even at 12 I was too cool for “girl” books). I’m beyond excited to rectify that!

I’ll probably also start You Don’t Have to Live Like This by Benjamin Markovits, a novel that takes on race and gentrification in post-recession Detroit. It sounds fascinating, and I can’t resist the cover. (Never mind that I wrote about the dangers of judging a book by its cover just last week.)

What are you reading this week?

12 thoughts on “What I’m Reading Monday, June 15

  1. Judy Blume! Margaret is actually one I haven’t read, so I am considering joining in (because I ADORE Summer Sisters). Also, I hope someday my kids talk about me the way you talk about your parents, because I am trying very hard to instill my love of travel in them.

What say you?

