It’s Monday, April 20! What Are You Reading?

Happy Monday, booklings! And happy birthday to me! (Is it okay to wish myself a happy birthday?) I’m 25 today, and I’m pretty excited to have survived an entire quarter century. I haven’t fallen off a cliff or gotten run over by a car or ANYTHING. I celebrated with some friends on Saturday night, and the boyfriend and I are heading to one of our favorite bars for the FANCIEST cocktails (see for yourself!) and pizza tonight.

You might have noticed the blog was pretty quiet last week. As in, I didn’t publish a single post. I had a serious case of ennui (unrelated to my birthday), for which I blame Kim. It seriously is contagious. I couldn’t squeeze any blog posts out of my mind grapes, so I decided to just take a break. No guilt!

Recent Reads

Now, of course, I have two weeks of books to write about! Last week, I LOVED Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and was kind of let down by The Listener by Rachel Basch. This week, I buried my nose in Spinster: Making a Life of One’s Own by Kate Bolick, which was even more wonderful than I had expected. It was seriously thought-provoking. I haven’t kept a journal in years, but I actually went out and bought a new one because this book made me think and feel so many things that I NEEDED to write down. Currently, I’m midway through The Given World by Marian Palaia, which is really lovely and fantastic. I can’t wait to see where it goes.

New Books

I have been pretty good about not buying ALL THE BOOKS lately, but I may have relapsed this week. I got a copy of We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie in the mail, which is so tiny and adorable that I can’t stop petting it. I also picked up Play It As It Lays by Joan Didion and The Unabridged Journals of Sylvia Plath, both of which I have been wanting to read for years. I think the Didion will make a good readathon choice, and I’m slowly reading a few pages of the Plath before bed every night.

Buffalo Small Press Book Fair 2015

Finally, I attended the Buffalo Small Press Book Fair on Saturday! This is one of my favorite annual events here; dozens of small presses, booksellers, artists, and zinesters gather in the gorgeous Karpeles Manuscript Library Museum to share their love of the literary arts and buy and sell bookish goods. (See my posts about the 2012 and 2013 fairs!) I had a nice time wandering around the floor, attending a few 10-minute readings, and buying two books: Repairable Men by John Carr Walker, from Sunnyoutside, which is one of my favorite indie publishers; and Giving Up by Mike Steeves, which was pitched to me as Woody Allen meets Alfred Hitchcock, from Book Thug.

This week, I’m looking forward to reading The Shore by Sarah Taylor! Shannon has been saying great things about it, so I’m super excited to dig in! I’m also eagerly anticipating Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon this weekend! I’ll be posting about my book stack later in the week.

What have you been reading?

32 thoughts on “It’s Monday, April 20! What Are You Reading?

  1. Good for you for just shutting things down for a week! Less writing means more reading, which is never a bad thing! I’m SO excited to read The Shore (it’s waiting for me on my Kindle)….as I got married in a tiny town on the Virginia Eastern Shore…right on the Chesapeake Bay and very similar to the setting of the book. We spend time there every summer and actually call it the shore. I was psyched to hear Shannon enjoyed it b/c I more or less requested it solely based on the setting.

  2. Happy Birthday, Leah! Mine is coming up this weekend. (All the best birthdays are in April, right?)

    I think when you resist buying books for a while, the books you do buy seem even more special!

    • Happy early birthday! (April babies really are the best.)

      Exactly! I’ve been trying to only buy books when I’m going to read them, which definitely makes purchases more special. No more library sale binges that clutter my shelf with books I’m only semi-interested in!

  3. Happy Birthday! You sound completely refreshed after your week off. I’m looking forward to hearing more about Spinster and The Given World. Enjoy your cocktails!

  4. Good to hear you were able to take some time off and recharge! You’re encouraging me to pick up The Given World…I’m so interested in it, but I have an e-galley and I just hatteee reading on my e-reader. Maybe I’ll grab a paper copy from the library instead 😉

  5. Happy birthday! Those cocktails look amazing (as did the one you shared on IG), and I love the idea of a small press book fair! You’ve added some new-to-me titles to my list(s), such as they are.

  6. Pingback: April Reads - Books Speak Volumes

  7. Happy (very, oops) belated birthday! Which amazing cocktail did you end up with?

    That book fair looks like such fun! I wonder if anything similar happens near me…

What say you?

