Five Awesome April Releases

After overbooking myself like crazy for March, I have a little bit of a reading lull in April. That said, there are some really interesting books coming up that I’m excited to read!

April Releases

1. The Given World by Marian Palaia (Simon & Schuster | April 14)

In 1968, thirteen-year-old Riley’s brother Mick goes missing in Vietnam. Devastated, she takes off, traveling from Montana to San Francisco, and then to Vietnam. Along the way, she meets a half-blind vet with a secret, an artistic cab-driving addict, a Saigon barmaid who becomes her confidante, and a banjo-carrying girl who is carrying her grandmother’s ashes. All of them are part of a lost generation, struggling to make sense of lives shaken by war and loss.

2. The Fair Fight by Anna Freeman (Riverhead | April 14)

The blurb calls it “The Crimson Petal and the White meets Fight Club: A page-turning novel set in the world of female pugilists and their patrons in late eighteenth-century England.” That’s all I need to know.

3. Capital Dames: The Civil War and the Women of Washington, 1848-1868 by Cokie Roberts (Harper | April 14)

Cokie Roberts marks the sesquicentennial of the Civil War by chronicling the experiences and influence of the women of Washington, D.C. during this period. Capital Dames takes a look at these women’s political empowerment, increasing independence, how they kept the Union unified through the war, and how their contributions forever changed the place of women. I think this book will be a hit for readers who enjoyed Liar, Temptress, Soldier, Spy by Karen Abbott.

4. Spinster: Making a Life of One’s Own by Kate Bolick (Crown | April 21)

Using her own life as a starting point, Kate Bolick examines why growing ranks of American women remain unmarried. Exploring the lives of pioneering women from the last century, she shows that contemporary debates about settling down, and having it all, are timeless — and encourages readers to live our own lives authentically, acknowledging our opportunities. It sounds really thought-provoking, as both a memoir and an exploration of our culture.

5. God Help the Child by Toni Morrison (Knopf | April 21)

Toni Morrison’s first novel to be set in the present day, God Help the Child centers around a young woman who calls herself Bride; Booker, the man she loves and loses; Rain, a mysterious white child with whom she crosses paths; and Bride’s mother Sweetness, who fails to understand that what you do to a child matters.

What are you most looking forward to reading this month?

Advertisements

7 thoughts on “Five Awesome April Releases

What say you?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s