It’s Monday, March 30! What Are You Reading?

Happy Monday! The last week has felt like a busy one. I participated in Bloggiesta, but I didn’t get as much done as I had hoped. I also made the 2.5-hour drive home to visit my parents and my sister for a few days. It was a nice visit, but it made for a pretty light reading week.

The only book I finished was Selfish, Shallow, and Self-Absorbed: Sixteen Writers on the Decision Not to Have Kids, edited by Meghan Daum. It was fantastic, and I have a feeling I’m going to be recommending it to a LOT of people through the years. I unfortunately set aside A Death on Diamond Mountain: A True Story of Obsession, Madness, and the Path to Enlightenment by Scott Carney. I can’t quite put my finger on why, but it just wasn’t pulling me in.

And finally, after a few months of reading almost entirely new releases, I’m allowing myself some mood reading! I just started Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, which has been on my shelf for many months. I’ve heard wonderful things about it, and I’m already falling in love.

What have you been reading?

19 thoughts on “It’s Monday, March 30! What Are You Reading?

  1. I’m about halfway through Middlesex. I didn’t read it when there was that whole hoopla surrounding it, but I picked it up a few weeks ago. It’s really good so far. Reminds me of Midnight’s Children for some reason…. :/ Americanah is on my TBR list :p

  2. Couldn’t really decide what to read so I’m going with The Giver because it’s a short book. I just got done with The Darkest Minds which I loved. I’ve put a lot of books on my kindle last night that I’ve seen people talk about. I’m kinda in a reading slump but only the kind of I don’t know which one to read first lol ok enough ramblings. Have a great day !

  3. My book club read Americanah last month, which I of course didn’t get to read since I was reading new releases. Ha. I’m now doing some light reading too…non new release, but not exactly mood reading either. Focusing on books that might make it on my summer reading list.

  4. I think the Meghan Daum sounds interesting. I have kids and adore being a mother so don’t completely understand why someone wouldn’t want any. I’d like to better understand that, so I don’t seem like a douche when someone is all “I don’t want kids, they’re gross” or whatever.

    I couldn’t get into Americanah which made me so sad. I’m going to try again though. Just, later.

    • I think it would be a great read for you! I have my own reasons for not wanting kids, but it was fascinating to read about a dozen other very personal reasons that wouldn’t have occurred to me.

      Hmm, I’m hearing that about Americanah from a few people.

  5. Curious about Americanah, have heard a lot of different things about it. Your book titles are really great… and long. Have a great week.

  6. Americanah is in my to-read list, too! I won’t be getting much reading done this week. I’m finishing up Like This For Ever by SJ Bolton and will probably be whittling down the comics TBR stacks.

  7. I’m glad you’re liking Americanah! It sounds good and Adichie is obviously amazing. Selfish, Shallow, and Self-Absorbed sounds like it applies very much to my feelings on having kids, but I probably won’t get to it for another few of years when people start asking me about kids. Thank god I haven’t hit that point in my life yet.

  8. I’ve got a soft spot for Meghan Daum, and books that talk about parenting (or not, as the case may be) in the context of larger social trends, so I am so gunning for Selfish, Shallow and Self-Absorbed. I have an e-galley but might need to wait for this one in print so I can underline more things.

    Can’t wait to hear what you think of Americanah!

What say you?

