February Reads

Although I started 2015 with a bang in January, my reading kind of fell by the wayside in February. I had a pretty busy month job searching and networking (which has actually been less painful than I anticipated), and I joined the marketing committee of the association that strives to improve the quality of life in my artsy, vibrant neighborhood. And although I loved the two non-fiction titles I read, they slowed my reading pace down quite a bit, as non-fiction tends to do. But I’ll take quality over quantity any day.

And perhaps it’s because my reading slowed down and I fell behind on reading review copies (can we talk about how stressful it was that ALL of the books came out on Feb. 3 and 11?), but as of this writing, I am 100% caught up on books reviews. It’s a pretty great feeling, and I would really like to keep up the habit of writing reviews within a day or two of finishing a book.

Books Read:

February Reads

  1. The Man Who Touched His Own Heart: True Tales of Science, Surgery, and Mystery by Rob Dunn
  2. The Hidden Light of Objects by Mai Al-Nakib
  3. My Sunshine Away by M.O. Walsh
  4. Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind by Yuval Noah Harari
  5. The World Before Us by Aislinn Hunter (in progress)

Books Reviewed:

February Reviews

  1. I Am Not a Slut: Slut-Shaming in the Age of the Internet by Leora Tanenbaum
  2. The Sasquatch Hunter’s Almanac by Sharma Shields
  3. Girl Runner by Carrie Snyder
  4. The Man Who Touched His Own Heart: True Tales of Science, Surgery, and Mystery by Rob Dunn
  5. The Hidden Light of Objects by Mai Al-Nakib
  6. My Sunshine Away by M.O. Walsh
  7. Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind by Yuval Noah Harari

Pages Read:

This month: 1,370

This year: 4,494

March Plans:

I really have very little planned for March, except for reading like a fiend, continuing my search for gainful employment, and getting more involved with local non-profits. As far as books go, I’m most excited to read Our Endless Numbered Days by Claire Fuller, That’s Not English by Erin Moore, and Selfish, Shallow, and Self-Absorbed by Megan Daum. (And A Little Life is being released! Mark your calendars for March 10 and place a library hold if you can.)

What did you read in February? Any plans for March?

20 thoughts on “February Reads

  1. I’m trying to get into that reviewing books right after I read them life too (despite my twitter sass). Congrats on being completely caught up! That sounds like a beautiful dream.
    I’m also going to start reading Our Endless Numbered Days in about a week! It sounds soooooo good.

  2. I’m with you on the clustered release dates – my March is like that – every single one of my March releases except for one (Hausfrau) is March 10! Grr..I’ll obviously be late on a couple of those 🙂 I’m knee deep in A Little Life right now and wish I had huge blocks of time to just read…it’s so amazing, but is taking me awhile to get through b/c I’m reading in max 30 min increments. Such is life with little kids!

  3. It’s so smart to review immediately after reading. Sigh 😉 I should REALLY do that! I’ve read a few of your February reads. I’m really looking forward to reading Sapiens. It’s on my shelf now, mocking me, lol. Have a great March!

  4. I also try to write reviews immediately upon reading, even if I don’t post them right away. I find it too hard to recall details if I don’t! Some good sounding books to add to my TBR, and good luck on the job hunt front! If you care to check out my Feb wrap-up and March TBR, you can do so at https://bookishtendencieskatie.wordpress.com/.

    • It’s such a good habit to get into! I don’t usually read too far ahead of pub. dates, but I recently read a book a few months early and wrote my review immediately. It’s given me so much peace of mind to know my review is scheduled and ready to go, and I don’t have to struggle to remember details this far down the road!

  5. I’m not quite caught up on reviews, but I am awfully close. And some of the books that aren’t reviewed are books that I don’t much feel like writing about, so they may just stay that way. It looks like you got to some great reads in February — I hope March is just as great.

  6. I try to write reviews as soon as possible, but I take lots and lots and lots of notes on Evernote while I’m reading (often dictating them, so sometimes they’re messy but they’re there). That way I can usually job my memory if I have to wait.
    I’m starting That’s Not English today, and I’m looking forward to reading Boo by Neil Smith soon, too. 🙂

  7. I’m very impressed at the 100% reviews status. I only review about 30-40% of what I read, in general, so I can’t imagine what it feels like to be entirely caught up.

    Wishing you luck in the job search!

  8. The Good Earth continues to mock me, unreviewed. If I got to that, I’d be all caught up as well! (Minus Annihilation, which is basically written but I’m considering releasing a Southern Reach trilogy mega-review).

    I’m glad that the job hunt hasn’t been as awful as anticipated—it sounds super stressful! Best of luck as you continue forward.

    And ah, A Little Life. I saw this one floating around NetGalley for so long but wasn’t certain about it… and, of course, everyone who read early loved it! I’ll have to re-investigate.

What say you?

