Five Fabulous February Releases

Damn, February is a GOOD month for books. I may have slightly overbooked my review calendar in my enthusiasm, and I’m reading like a demon to try to keep up. Picking just five titles to feature was a difficult feat this month!

Of the five February releases I am sharing today, I have read two, am halfway through a third, and am eagerly anticipating reading the last two. We’ve got non-fiction about sexual double standards and the history of heart surgery and fiction about an elderly former Olympic champion, a post-apocalyptic world inhabited only by children, and agirl coming of age in 1980s Baton Rouge. Let’s take a closer look, shall we?

February Releases

1. I Am Not a Slut: Slut Shaming in the Age of the Internet by Leora Tanenbaum (Harper Perennial | Feb. 3)

Being a teenage girl has never been more complicated than it is today. For generations, adolescent girls and young women have dealt with sexual double standards in school, but today’s Internet culture has added an entirely new element for them to navigate. In I Am Not a Slut, Leora Tanenbaum interviews adolescent and college-age girls and the professionals who work with them to provide fresh insight into the lives of young women today.

2. Girl Runner by Carrie Snyder (Harper | Feb. 3)

At 104 years old, former Olympic champion Aganetha Smart is festering in her nursing home when two young strangers with mysterious motives arrive to take her on a day trip. As they wheel her around her old family farm, memories come flooding back — memories of her beloved sister who died too young, her history-making running career, her deep friendship with another runner, and a romance with huge ramifications.

3. The Man Who Touched His Own Heart: True Tales of Science, Surgery, and Mystery by Rob Dunn (Little, Brown | Feb. 3)

For thousands of years, the heart has been considered the center of the soul, but only recently have we begun to understand how it works. In The Man Who Touched His Own Heart, Rob Dunn takes readers through the history of the heart, from ancient theories to da Vinci’s observations to the first heart surgeries and more. If you need some fun facts for your next dinner party, look no further.

4. My Sunshine Away by M.O. Walsh (Amy Einhorn Books | Feb. 10)

In the summer of 1989, fifteen-year-old Lindy Simpson experiences a horrible crime near her home in idyllic Baton Rouge, Florida. Juxtaposing the enchantment of childhood, a violent crime, and consuming adolescent love, My Sunshine Away is a page-turning debut about family, memory, and forgiveness.

5. The Country of Ice Cream Star by Sandra Newman (Ecco | Feb. 10)

Fifteen-year-old Ice Cream Star lives in a ruined, post-apocalyptic America where a mysterious plague kills everyone before they reach the age of twenty. When her brother begins developing symptoms of this disease, she sets out across the wasteland in search of the rumored cure. With the help of a stranger named Pasha, she risks her life to protect the only world she’s ever known.

What are you looking forward to reading this month?

10 thoughts on “Five Fabulous February Releases

  1. Feb is so promising, isn’t it?! I overbooked myself too 🙂 Oh well. I know I’ve been raving about My Sunshine Away for a little while now, but I’ll keep doing it – is my favorite book of the year so far! Girl Runner is on my radar, as well as Ice Cream Star (but will wait for the reviews on that one since I don’t normally like post-apocalyptic – Station Eleven aside). I’m reading Golden State right now, which is great so far, and have A Touch of Stardust and The Half Brother on my schedule as well. May give Welcome to Braggsville one more shot too. Enjoy!!

  2. I’m right there with you–totally overbooked, and already behind on March reviews, too. There are some awesome titles here, and most are on my list as well. Also Find Me by Laura Van Den Berg, which I’ve actually already finished (it was excellent).

What say you?

