It’s Monday, Jan. 26! What Are You Reading?

Happy Monday! I’ve never taken part in this meme before, but I thought I’d try it on for size this week — and I have some GOOD books to talk about.

I finished up A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara a few days ago, and it was every bit as complex and expertly crafted as I had expected.

This morning, I wrapped up I Am Not a Slut: Slut Shaming in the Age of the Internet by Leora Tanenbaum. I was super excited to read it, but I had no idea how unputdownable it would be. I stayed up until 2 a.m. last night reading because I just couldn’t switch my brain off.

Later today I’ll be jumping back into Flappers: Six Women of a Dangerous Generation by Judith Mackrell! I’ve lost some steam with Jazz Age January, but I’m looking forward to reading the second half of this book.

22 thoughts on “It’s Monday, Jan. 26! What Are You Reading?

  1. I can’t WAIT to start A Little Life. I keep putting it aside because my brain is distracted by other things (moving! moving! oh, and moving!) and I want to give it the attention I think it’s due.

    I read I Am Not a Slut in December and while I liked a lot of it, I struggled with some parts–a bit too much of “all” and “always” and “everyone” for my taste without the facts to back it up. But Tanenbaum’s work is really thought-provoking and definitely made me think about a lot of things differently. Especially how grateful I am that Facebook and Twitter weren’t a thing when I was in high school.

    • It’s definitely a book that requires your full attention! It’s really immersive.

      I get that; her assertion that “almost all” women have been called a slut seemed like a bit much, but I only have my personal experience to go by. MySpace was popular when I was in high school (which is embarrassing enough), but I’m SO glad Instagram didn’t yet exist! My boyfriend’s little sister is 12, and I was pretty much thinking about her the whole time I read I Am Not a Slut.

  2. So glad to hear that about A Little Life! As soon as I read the blurb I knew I wanted to read it – and thanks for tweeting about it! I’d never heard of her before. Have you read her other book as well?

    Hope the second half of the Jazz Age January book is terrific. I was not as huge a fan of Gatsby as I know a lot of people are, so I’m wary of reading books from that era (dumb, I know, but true!).

  3. I’m so glad you didn’t suffer through a post-Little Life hangover the way I did – I think nonfiction was probably a smart route to take. I didn’t love I Am Not a Slut (I ended up having a few issues with the way she framed some of her arguments and was really hoping to see more discussion on internet culture itself), but I though it was an interesting read.

    • I was expecting more about internet culture in general, too, but I thought she did a great job unpacking the sexual double standards teens/young women face. I would have liked to see more numbers, though; I wanted more concrete arguments than the assertion that “almost all” girls are called a slut at some point — how many is that?

  4. I finished Kay Scarpetta #7 today and I’m back in love with the series 🙂

    I hope you enjoy Flappers: Six Women of a Dangerous Generation as much as I did, and we can discuss our favourite of the women soon 🙂 Can’t wait for your review of I Am Not a Slut: Slut Shaming in the Age of the Internet.

  5. I have never heard of I Am Not A Slut, but I’m adding it to my TBR list! I’ve been interested in reading a lot more feminist literature lately, since reading Roxane Gay’s “Bad Feminist.”

    PS I’ve just discovered your blog and am a new fan!

What say you?

