Jazz Age January: Sign Ups

Hey there flappers and fellas! How’s tricks? The year is winding down, and I’m ready to rouge my knees and roll my stockings down, dance my way to the speakeasy, and get absolutely spifflicated. What’s that? You say the year is 2014 and NOT 1924? Well then, I suppose I’ll have to settle for curling up in my armchair with a hot toddy and READING about the mad times of the Roaring ’20s. Care to join me?

Jazz Age JanuaryI’m excited to announce the second annual Jazz Age January! Jazz Age January is a month-long reading event dedicated to literature from and about the 1920s.

Readers are invited to read novels written by Jazz Age authors, non-fiction about the ’20s and its major figures, and contemporary fiction set during this time period. It’s a great reason to finally read those Hemingway and Fitzgerald books that have been sitting on your shelves for years, learn about how The Great Gatsby came to be, or indulge in a sensational novel about Hemingway’s wives.

I will post a Roaring ’20s Reading Guide midway through December, but to get an idea of what type of books this event celebrates, these are some of the most popular books read for this event last year: (You can see the full list here.)

  • The Beautiful and Damned and The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • The Sun Also Rises and A Moveable Feast by Ernest Hemingway
  • Vile Bodies and Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh
  • Careless People: Murder, Mayhem, and the Invention of The Great Gatsby by Sarah Churchwell
  • Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Therese Anne Fowler
  • The Paris Wife by Paula McLane
  • The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty

How to Participate:

All you have to do to participate in this event is read at least one Jazz Age book and write about it on your blog! The event will start on January 1, and I will post weekly linkups for participants to share their posts starting January 10. Non-review posts are welcome, too! Feel free to write informational posts about the Jazz Age and its authors, recommendation lists, or anything that catches your fancy.

If you plan on joining the fun, please sign up using the Mister Linky widget at the bottom of this post. Sign-ups are open all through January, so if you don’t find out about this event until after it starts, don’t be discouraged! Anyone is welcome to join at any time.

Please grab the button at the top of this post and post it somewhere on your blog, like in an introductory post or in the sidebar, to share this event with others and help spread the word!

If you’d like to share your posts or discuss the event on Twitter, use the hashtag #JazzAgeJan.

Sign Up:

http://www.blenza.com/linkies/loc_en.jshttp://www.blenza.com/linkies/opt_defaults.jshttp://www.blenza.com/linkies/misterlinky.jshttp://www.blenza.com/linkies/autolink.php?mode=standard&owner=mosherleah&postid=04Dec2014&meme=11606

Gatsby Toasting

If you participated in Jazz Age January last year, what was your favorite book? If you are participating for the first time, what do you think you’ll read?

30 thoughts on “Jazz Age January: Sign Ups

  1. I’m so excited this event is back. I read a couple of my books last time, but I’ll shamefully admit that I didn’t write any reviews or posts apart from the starter post. I hope to be a little more dedicated this time around. Thanks much for hosting again!

  2. YAY! I have had The Beautiful and the Damned on my nightstand for a few months now, and I’m happy to have finally found a nudge to read it. I got an error message when I tried to sign up using your widget above, so hopefully you didn’t just get 10 requests from me 🙂

  3. I’ve been waiting for this sign-up post. 🙂 I think I’ll read some Evelyn Waugh this time and some non-fiction, “Flapper: A Madcap Story of Sex, Style, Celebrity, and the Women Who Made America Modern.” Who can resist a book with a title like that?
    (Sorry, I accidentally signed up twice…)

  4. The 20’s is one of my favorite times to read about! I ordered Paris Without End: The True Story of Hemingway’s First Wife by Gioia Diliberto a few months ago but never got around to it, and it will be perfect for this!

  5. Nice use of a Leo GIF 🙂 This might be the push I need to sit down and read Flappers — looks amazing, but the length has been intimidating me.

  6. So much fun! the 1920s are my favourite decade in history and I LOVE the literature of and about that period. Really looking forward to this challenge!

  7. Looking forward to participating! I’m going to read Maureen Corrigan’s So We Read On. Last year, I read Sarah Churchill’s Careless People (also about The Great Gatsby), so it will be a fun comparison. Thanks for organizing the linkup!

    • I did the same thing! I just finished So We Read On and loved it. Corrigan’s book is more personal than Churchwell’s; she writes about her own journey with Gatsby and her research efforts and interpretations, which offers a nice contrast to Churchwell’s more objective take.

  8. i really enjoyed this last year. so thrilled you’re doing it again. my dad just gave me his copy of FOR WHOM THE BELLS TOLL, so i’ll start with that.

What say you?

