Mid-Month Book Look: What I’m Reading in November

Howdy bookworms! I don’t know how it’s already the middle of November. The other day, the boyfriend glanced at the calendar and realized that Thanksgiving is next week, and we both flipped out a little bit.

What I'm Reading in November

It’s been a pretty slow reading month. I’m enjoying Nonfiction November, but I’m not reading as much as I usually do. I loved Lives in Ruins by Marilyn Johnson, but I just keep struggling with Liar, Temptress, Soldier, Spy by Karen Abbott. The subject (four women undercover in the Civil War!) is fascinating, but I’m having trouble finding my rhythm. All four stories are told at the same time, and whenever I really get into one woman’s story, the narrative switches to someone else’s story, and I lose momentum. I’m going to keep soldiering on, though. (Ha! Get it, soldiering?!)

The only other book I’ve actually finished this month was Emerald City by Jennifer Egan, which I started during Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon. It was lovely, as to be expected from Egan.

I’m nearly done with Smarter Than You Think by Clive Thompson, which is absolutely fascinating. I think I’ll have used up an entire pack of sticky flags by the time I finish.

Finally, I’m reading See You in Paradise by J. Robert Lennon, and oh lordy I’m in love with it. It is beyond charming.

November: Up Next

Next up is The Empathy Exams by Leslie Jamison. I’m also looking forward to listening to some audiobooks on the 10-hour drive to Richmond for Thanksgiving next week. It’s going to be a very Parks & Rec drive; Amy Poehler’s Yes Please and Nick Offerman’s Paddle Your Own Canoe are on deck!

What have you been reading this month?

12 thoughts on “Mid-Month Book Look: What I’m Reading in November

  1. I just finished Yes Please and absolutely loved it. I didn’t get through Paddle Your Own Canoe, and I was really disappointed that I didn’t like it! I expected it to be so funny!

  2. I realized last night that I have only 4 evenings left to get the guest room ready for our Thanksgiving guests. HELP!!! I’m reading Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Miracle, which started out strong but now has me skipping pages here and there. I’m waiting for Lives in Ruins to arrive at the library.

  3. I can’t believe it’s the end of November. The snow outside should be a clue… but I’m in denial. It’s been such a slow reading month for me, which is a bummer, but maybe I can find some time to settle in with a book over the holiday weekend.

    • We actually didn’t get any snow until this week… and then we got ALL the snow. (Luckily my part of Buffalo got less than a foot, but areas south of the city got up to 7 feet!)

      I wonder why this month is so slow for some of us. I plan on spending a good amount of time hiding with a book over Thanksgiving 😛

  4. I’m really looking forward to reading Yes Please, although I did consider the audiobook instead as I can imagine the narration would be brilliant.

What say you?

