My Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon Book Stack

Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon is coming up this Saturday, and I am super excited to participate for the first time! Although I’ve been blogging for nearly three years, I have somehow never taken part in this event; I’m going to chalk it up to always having to work on Saturdays. But the plus side to being laid off from my job two weeks ago is that I finally have free weekends! (I have to find silver linings wherever I can, folks.)

I am really looking forward to spending the entire day reading, although I very much doubt I will last the full 24 hours. I’m like one of those dolls that closes its eyes when you lay it down; as soon as I stretch out on the couch, I drift off to sleep. I anticipate taking many accidental naps throughout the day.

In picking out my books for the read-a-thon, I tried to select a wide variety of short books. There is no way I will get through all of them (I’ll be thrilled if I finish three or four), but I like having options!

Dewey's Read-a-thon Book StackNovels:

When the Emperor Was Divine by Julie Otsuka

Reunion by Hannah Pittard

Equilateral by Ken Kalfus

Short stories: 

Emerald City by Jennifer Egan

See You in Paradise by J. Robert Lennon

Graphic novel:

Fun Home by Alison Bechdel

The boyfriend and I are planning on an easy crock pot chicken dinner (chicken and cream of chicken soup served over rice and peas) for Saturday, and I’m going to pick up some tasty snacks from Trader Joe’s!

Are you participating in the read-a-thon? If you’ve participated before, what is the one tip you would give to a first-timer?

12 thoughts on “My Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon Book Stack

  1. I’ve read two of those and can’t wait to hear your thoughts: When the Emperor Was Divine was underwhelming for me (writing style), but the story was excellent. And I absolutely LOVED Fun Home by Alison Bechdel and got her to sign my copy a few years ago!

    • I picked up When the Emperor Was Divine at a used book shop, having heard good things about The Buddha in the Attic. I’m sad to hear the writing style fell flat for you! Everyone seems to love Fun Home, though, so I’m very excited for that one. How cool that you were able to get your copy signed!

      • It was! And she drew a little picture too! When I finally get around to re-reading it I’m sure I’ll include that snapshot.

  2. Yay, your first Readathon! I hope you have an awesome time. I have Fun Home on my stack too. My best tip is to do a few chores the night before — I’m one of those people that has a hard time relaxing when I know there is work to do. If I do the dishes or laundry of vacuum the night before, I can relax a lot better that day.

  3. I think Reunion will be in my stack as well! Well, my virtual stack because it’s on my Kindle . . . how do you post a good stack picture if everything is on an e-reader? Lol, that is one of my many questions for my first attempt at the readathon!

What say you?

