Mid-Month Book Look: What I’m Reading in September

Happy mid-September, booklings! I can’t believe how quickly the weather has changed. Ten days ago, it still felt like summer. I was wearing shorts and tank tops and sipping summer IPAs. (It was glorious.) And then it was as if the weather suddenly flipped a switch and jumped right into fall mode. Temperatures have been in the 60s ever since! I’m not going to complain, as now I get to wear comfy flannel and switch to my favorite fall beers (pumpkin ale!) The only downside is that now I have to wear pants pretty much every day.

In other news, I got to hear Cheryl Strayed speak at a university nearby, and I’m giving away a signed copy of Tiny Beautiful Things! It was amazing, and I’m excited to share this book with a lucky reader. The giveaway is open through Friday, so there’s plenty of time to rack up some Twitter entries.

Mid Month Book Look: What I'm Reading, September

I’ve done a lot of reading this month, but, for the most part, nothing has really blown me away. I enjoyed Island of a Thousand Mirrors by Nayomi Munaweera, but it left me more with dreamy impressions than concrete memories. Rainey Royal by Dylan Landis was an excellent read about a provocative but vulnerable girl growing up in 1970s Greenwich Village. What We See When We Read by Peter Mendelsund was a fun afternoon of reading, but I kind of wished it was more sciencey. The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters was good but much more like a literary soap opera than I was expecting. I just started reading Liar, Temptress, Soldier, Spy by Karen Abbott, and although the premise is fascinating — the true stories of four women who went undercover in the Civil War — I haven’t settled into its rhythm yet.

Up next is Stone Mattress by Margaret Atwood! By a lucky accident (it’s a long story), I wound up with two copies of this book, so watch the site for a giveaway once I’ve had time to read and review it!

What are you reading this month?

15 thoughts on “Mid-Month Book Look: What I’m Reading in September

  1. I read I’m Having So Much Fun Here Without You, which was good but didn’t blow me away. Right now I’m reading The Little Friend by Donna Tartt after loving The Secret History and Stone Mattress and Station Eleven should be showing up today!

  2. I know what you mean. Everything seems kind of “meh” for me lately. Not sure if it’s because I’m reading more “assigned” reading and ARCs or what. Comics seem to take me out of my blahs, though. I can always count on them.

  3. I really wanted to love Island of a Thousand Mirrors more than I did (the second half was so much better than the first for me) and have been feeling that way about a handful of books lately. Getting ready to ease into breezy reading October/November and I’m quite happy about it.

    • I felt kind of misled by the cover copy; it didn’t really feel like the stories of two families? It was more like the story of one family and how this one person impacted them. The two stories didn’t really balance, and that was frustrating.

  4. I started the Abbot book at the end of August and didn’t get very far into it. I think I need to give it another try and give it a little longer so it can find a rhythm.

  5. The Paying Guests was not my favorite read, but it’s stuck with me more than I expected. I admire it as a character study of a woman trapped by a combination of her time, place and her own inability to transgress the public facades of gender and class. I thought the Atwood collection was wonderful, especially the linked set of three stories that open the book.

  6. You’ve got some great reads lined up this month. Although the reviews are mixed, I was one who loved Paying Guests, a story that has stayed with me.

  7. This post is interesting but so are the comments because it seems like everyone is feeling meh about their September books. I’m with you on The Paying Guests- my review goes up tomorrow so I won’t say more. The only book I felt differently about was Rainey Royal. I thought she was a 1970s mean girl and couldn’t get past that. I never connected with her or her story. Maybe I’m just getting cold-hearted in my old age! 🙂

What say you?

