August Reads

Happy long weekend, everyone! Can you believe summer is ending? I’m so not ready for fall yet. I got a lot of reading done this month, but I hit a major blogging slump. I’ve been reading some great books, but I’m just not feeling any motivation to sit down and write about them. Hopefully the cooler weather of September will get me back in the groove!

Books Read:

August Reads

The Fever by Megan Abbot

Virgin by Radhika Sanghani

We Are Not Ourselves by Matthew Thomas

Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage by Haruki Murakami

How to Build a Girl by Caitlin Moran

Neverhome by Laird Hunt

Smoke Gets in Your Eyes by Caitlin Doughty

The King’s Curse by Philippa Gregory

Pages Read:

This month: 3,120

This year: 18,316

Books Reviewed:

August Reviews

Kingdom of Ice by Hampton Sides. Compelling non-fiction that reads like a novel, this book tells the story of an 1860s naval expedition attempting to reach the North Pole. It’s full of fascinating facts, rich characters, and mortal peril.

Virgin by Radhika Sanghani. Following a British university student as she tries to cash in her V-card, this light-hearted, entertaining novel discusses all the gross/sexy things no one talks about.

We Are Not Ourselves by Matthew Thomas. This sprawling epic follows the Irish American O’Leary family as they move upward in society. However, matriarch Eileen’s ambition can’t protect the family from the ravages of disease.

The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton. A young woman in 17th century Amsterdam receives an ornate cabinet house from her new husband. When she enlists a miniaturist to create furnishings for the miniature house, she gets more than she bargained for. This debut novel, which has a delightfully creepy tone, was one of my favorites this year.

September Plans:

I’m really looking forward to September! It looks like a crazy amazing month for new books, and I’m excited to dive deeper into my galley shelf. I’m also planning on participating in the More Diverse Universe reading challenge; I love that a new challenge is encouraging people to read more diversely.

What did you read in August? Any plans for September?

4 thoughts on “August Reads

  1. This looks like a great set of August reads! I didn’t read nearly as many books in August as I hoped I would. I’m saving them up (and downloading more!) for an upcoming trip. I’m really looking forward to it.

    I used to love fall because it meant it was time to go back to school. Now that I’m an adult, it just means that winter is right around the corner. I can’t say I’m excited about it anymore.

  2. I feel like I kind of hit a blogging slump in August as well. It’s not that I didn’t want to blog, more that I was just so busy!! And now I feel so behind and the reviews that need to be written are piling up. In some ways the end of summer will be good, because I’ll get back to business and into a regular routine.

  3. This is such an awesome selection! A ton of these are on my TBR for September :). I’m glad you really enjoyed We Are Not Ourselves. Sadly, I feel intimidated by the length but a coworker adored it and I trust his opinion. Great month for you :)!

What say you?

