Get on My Bookshelf! Ten Books I Want to Read But Don’t Yet Own

Happy Tuesday, booklings! Like a true blue book nerd, I love a good list.

This week for Top Ten Tuesday, the folks over at The Broke and the Bookish ask bloggers to list the top ten books that we want to read but don’t yet own. I may have half a bookshelf full of books I own but haven’t yet read, but I have an even bigger list of books I haven’t even gotten around to purchasing. Due to the nearly infinite amount of books in the world and my efforts to limit the number of books I purchase, there are roughly a gazillion books I want to read but don’t own. I’m excited to talk about them (well, ten of them). Maybe this post will inspire me to finally buy some of them! We’ll start out with a few recent releases that I want to read and work backward!

Get on my bookshelf!

1. Land of Love and Drowning by Tihpanie Yanique. I have been hearing such amazing things about this book, and it sounds right up my alley! Also, I met the author at a BEA party, and she was super nice, and that makes me very curious to read her writing.

2. Green Girl by Kate Zambreno. I have been craving books about women in their 20s, and when Roxane Gay wrote about this novel in Bad Feminist, I knew I had to read it. It’s about a young American woman in London as she tries “desperately to navigate a world in which she attracts the unwanted gaze of others while grappling with the uncertainty of her own self-regard” (Goodreads). It has my name written all over it.

3. What We See When We Read by Peter Menesund. This book, written by a book jacket designer, explores how we visualize images while reading. It sounds so nerdy and fascinating! It will probably by my next purchase.

4. Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand. I have been waiting for this book to come out in paperback for YEARS, and it finally has! This means I should probably buy it before the movie comes out.

5. Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace. I love Wallace’s essays, but I haven’t yet read any of his fiction. I really want to read this masterpiece, but it never seems like the right time to tackle such a massive tome.

6. Play It as It Lays by Joan Didion. I’ve read some of Didion’s essays and both of her memoirs, but again, none of her fiction. This novel has been on my radar for years, but Roxane Gay’s essay about it and Green Girl cemented my desire to read it.

7. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou. I have no excuse for not having read this book yet. I know it’s amazing and that I’m going to love it, but I’ve somehow never gotten around to buying it!

8. Stoner by John Williams. I’ve heard a lot of great things about this book, which seems to have grown very popular in the last few years. It’s one of those books that I really want to read… at some point… but haven’t yet felt the urge to read NOW.

9. If on a Winter’s Night a Traveler by Italo Calvino. I’ve read some works that I’ve heard compared to Calvino, like Haruki Murakami and Tim Horvath, which makes me really intrigued by this writer. According to Book Riot‘s Start Here Vol. 1, this is the best place to start reading his works! And since I’m a boring rule-follower, that is what I shall do.

10. The Unabridged Journals of Sylvia Plath by Sylvia Plath. The Bell Jar is one of my favorite books, and I have a lot of curiosity about Plath as a person. Reading Andrew Wilson’s biography Mad Girl’s Love Song last year only made me more fascinated by her. Her writing is so beautiful, and I would love to read about her life in her own words.

What books do you most want to read that you don’t yet own?

14 thoughts on “Get on My Bookshelf! Ten Books I Want to Read But Don’t Yet Own

  1. I think ‘If On a Winter’s Night a Traveler’ is one of the key influences behind ‘Cloud Atlas’ and that’s what first got me interested in it. Have a copy, but haven’t read it yet — the story of my life. Same with four other titles on your list. I wrote a list, but didn’t make time to post it yet.

  2. Cool topic for a list. Here’s my current top ten.

    The Art of Fielding – Chad Harbach
    MaddAddam Trilogy – Margaret Atwood
    The Dying Earth – Jack Vance
    Songs of Kali – Dan Simmons
    The Snow Child – Eowyn Ivey
    The Windup Girl – Paolo Bacigalupi
    Little, Big – John Crowley
    Pastoralia – George Saunders
    The Killing Moon – N.K. Jemison
    What We Talk About When We Talk About Love – Raymond Carver

  3. Same here with The Unabridged Journals of Sylvia Plath by Sylvia Plath. Maybe if we get a copy we could do a read-along? 🙂

What say you?

