Mid-Month Book Look: What I’m Reading in August

Hello lovelies! You might have noticed the blog’s been pretty quiet this month. There is no real reason for this, except that I haven’t really felt like blogging. There was a time that this would really stress me out, but I’m learning to be okay with the ebbs and flows in motivation. Blogging is something I do for fun, and I’m not going to let myself feel bad about taking a break when I need one. (But hopefully I’ll be back to a more regular posting schedule soon!)

In other news, it’s been a pretty busy month! Tom and I were on vacation when August started, and when we got home we still had a lot of settling into our new apartment to do. My parents and sister also came to visit (separately), I bought a bike (I’m loving being able to ride to work!), and we hosted a housewarming party for Tom’s family. I also tried to learn to weave, and it is much more difficult than it looks.

What I'm Reading August

I haven’t finished many books yet this month, but the ones I did get through were very good! I devoured Megan Abbot’s The Fever and Haruki Murakami’s Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage, and I enjoyed Virgin by Radhika Sanghani. Currently, I’m slowly making my way through a pair of chunskters: The King’s Curse by Philippa Gregory and We Are Not Ourselves by Matthew Thomas. I’m a bit disappointed by the lack of bodice ripping in The King’s Curse, but We Are Not Ourselves is excellent; it reminded me a lot of A Tree Grows in Brooklyn at the beginning.

Up next are The Story of Land and Sea by Katy Simpson Smith and Island of a Thousand Mirrors by Nayomi Munaweera!

What have you been reading lately?

10 thoughts on “Mid-Month Book Look: What I’m Reading in August

    • This was my fifth Murakami, and I think it would be a great place to start! It gives you a good feel for his writing style, but it’s a lot more accessible than some of his more surreal books — this one has strange dream sequences, but no talking cats or Oedipal prophecies 😛

  1. I’ve been in a bit of a blogging funk. I’ve been posting, but I feel so uninspired! Blarrrgh. Looks like you’ve been reading some great stuff! Keep it up and I’m sure your blogging mojo will come back…when it’s time. 😀

  2. I have a feeling you’ll love Story of Land and Sea! (I haven’t read it yet, but I just think it has you written all over it.)
    I’ve been so stressed this summer I’ve barely been reading or blogging at all! Mega frown 😦

  3. Island of a Thousand Mirrors is so beautifully written but so heart breaking. Definitely not a “fun summer read,” but great nonetheless. I’ve never read any Murakami but I think this might be a good place to start!

  4. I also devoured The Fever. Can’t wait to hear what you think. We’ve missed you online, but we know you’re in good company 🙂

What say you?

