Mid-Month Book Look: What I’m Reading in July

How is July flying by so quickly? I feel like the summer just started, and it’s already half over. But I’m really looking forward to the next few weeks! In a few days I’ll be motoring up to Toronto to meet up with Karen of One More Page! We only live about two hours apart (give or take border crossing time), and I’m excited to meet another blogger. And next week, Tom and I are moving into our new apartment and then immediately going on vacation. We’ll be spending a week at a cottage on one of the Finger Lakes with my family (and extended family). I’m so looking forward to relaxing by the water, swimming, boating, and wine tasting.

What I'm Reading; July

It’s been a very good reading month so far! I really enjoyed Mrs. Hemingway by Naomi Wood and High as the Horses’ Bridles by Scott Cheshire, and right now I’m reading In the Kingdom of Ice by Hampton Sides. I don’t read a ton of narrative non-fiction, but In the Kingdom of Ice is reminding me just how great it can be; it’s a fascinating yarn about a doomed 1870s naval expedition to the North Pole, and I don’t want to put it down. I also started The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith (aka J.K. Rowling). After reading Rowling’s Rita Skeeter short story earlier this week, I was craving some Harry Potter. Since I don’t have time to re-read the series again right now, I decided reading Rowling’s latest book would be the next best thing! I’ve only just started reading, but it’s darn good.

What have you been reading lately?

6 thoughts on “Mid-Month Book Look: What I’m Reading in July

  1. Two marvellous books you’re reading/have read there, The Silkworm and Mrs Hemingway. Definitely two I’ve loved reading. In the Kingdom of Ice sounds great, not something I would usually read, but it’s intrigued me.

What say you?

