Mid-Month Book Look: What I’m Reading in May

Hello booklings! I’m extremely happy to report that it’s finally feeling like spring here in Buffalo! After a few days of glorious weather last week (during which I got to spend a perfect hour reading and drinking beer on the patio of my favorite bar) it rained like crazy, and now, in the last few days, there has been a positive explosion of leafy growth. There’s nothing better than the sight of brand new leaves on the trees lining my street.

It’s also been a pretty great reading month so far! I loved An Untamed State by Roxanne Gay, couldn’t put Brain on Fire down, and enjoyed Midsummer, a novella I read for TLC Book Tours. And now I’m reading The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer! I’m loving it so far and can’t wait to meet Ms.Wolitzer herself at BEA in a few weeks! Amid all of these great reads was one book I didn’t like: The Quick by Lauren Owen. It wasn’t at all what I was expecting, and although I tried to be open-minded, I just didn’t enjoy it.

What have you been reading this month?

15 thoughts on “Mid-Month Book Look: What I’m Reading in May

  1. I’m glad to hear that it’s feeling/looking like spring in your area. I feel like mine jumped from winter to summer. Oh well! May is shaping up to be a pretty decent reading month for me too. I recently finished Rachel Joyce’s Perfect, Anne Ursu’s Breadcrumbs, and Jane Austen’s Northanger Abbey. I’m in the middle of Emma Donoghue’s Frog Music, and I’ll be starting I Kill The Mockingbird and Lost For Words next week.

  2. I’m reading Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace this month, and so far it’s been okay. Definitely a harder book to get through, the last chapter I read had a sentence that lasted a page and a half! Not my cup of tea, but I’m going to finish it and try to keep an open mind like you did with The Quick.

  3. It’s finally Spring here in Oxford too! Wish I could be reading outside instead of being in the office… I’ve just finished Song for an Approaching Storm by Peter Froberg Idling which was actually great, and I’m currently reading The Bone Seeker by MJ McGrath. So far it’s pretty standard crime fic, but I like it. Can’t wait to read your reviews 🙂

  4. Yikes. The Quick is up next for me and I’ve been hearing some lukewarm reviews, bordering on the negative.
    I’m reading The Empathy Exams right now and for some reason, though I’ve heard such great things about it, it’s going really slowly. I don’t just feel compelled to pick it back up 😦 Not a great place to be in during Bout of Books Week.

  5. It’s so nice to see you happy about the weather! I don’t know how you manage reading at a bar though, reading outdoors is a personal challenge of mine!

What say you?

