Ten Brilliant Book Cover Designs

Happy Tuesday, bookworms! Like a true blue book nerd, I love a good list.

This week for Top Ten Tuesday, the folks over at The Broke and the Bookish ask bloggers to list ten book covers we would frame as pieces of art. I’m just going to go ahead and feature some of my favorite cover designs, whether or not I’d actually want to hang them on my walls. I’m either a rebel or just really bad at following directions.

covers tall

1. In the House Upon the Dirt Between the Lake and the Woods by Matt Bell. I wasn’t a huge fan of this book, but hot damn that cover is great. I love the bold colors and minimal design.

2. The Reason I Jump by Naoki Higashida. I actually do wish I had a display shelf that I could put this book on. It’s just so pretty!

3. We Are Water by Wally Lamb. Hey, this cover looks like a painting! I would totally frame this and hang it on my wall.

4. Leaving the Sea by Ben Marcus. I didn’t particularly enjoy the stories in this collection, but the design is so great! It’s the same style as the Flame Alphabet cover, and I love the way both covers look textured.

5. Tampa by Alissa Nutting. The paperback cover is just so cheeky! I never thought a button hole could make me blush, but oh my!

6. Dept. of Speculation by Jenny Offil. I love the simple design, but what really makes this cover great is the lovely embossing. I just want to touch it!

7. A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki. I love the bright colors and the Japanese elements!

8. Swamplandia! by Karen Russell. I’m in love with the vintage look of this cover design!

9. Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple. I love the bold, minimal cover, and I think it suits the book really well.

10. The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt. This cover contains a peek at an actual painting! The cover is so beautiful and clever.

26 thoughts on “Ten Brilliant Book Cover Designs

  1. I like your choice of Bernadette, forgot about that one! (a spanking may suffice) It was a lot of fun thinking about and posting about the subject.

  2. Not only do I agree with your choices, but I admire your ability to create great looking graphics yourself. A few book bloggers seem to have this ability – is there a seminar or something? I was trying to make one for the blog a little while ago and ended up just deciding to love how crappy and earnestly “look ma! will you put it on the fridge” it was. You’ll get to see and mock it in a few weeks 🙂 -Tania

    • I’m going to let you in on a little secret: PicMonkey! It’s a free site for editing images and making collages, and it’s super easy to use. Shannon of River City Reading wrote a great post a while back about getting the most out of it!

  3. I put the Goldfinch on my list as well! And I really like the cover of Wally Lamb- I’ve been seeing it at the library a lot lately and my eyes are automatically drawn to it every time I walk past it. Great list! 🙂

What say you?

