Mid-Month Book Look: What I’m Reading

aprilHappy Saturday, readerkins! It’s a little later than I had planned, but I’m checking in with a quick mid-month reading update.

So far this month I’ve read Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro and All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr, both of which were fantastic. I’m currently reading The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell, which isn’t something I probably would have picked up without the numerous recommendations from trusted sources, but I’m loving it! Also, whenever I think “Jesuits in space” in connection to it, the “Jews in Space” song from A History of the World, Part 2 pops into my head. (I know it’s not a real movie). So, there’s that.

I’ve also taken a kind of accidental two-week break from blogging. I’ve just been feeling uninspired to write, so I’ve been totally neglecting this space. Thank goodness for a few pre-scheduled posts, so it hasn’t been completely quiet. It’s been a nice break, and now I’m coming back with gusto!

17 thoughts on “Mid-Month Book Look: What I’m Reading

  1. Same here with the lack of inspiration. It must be the weather or something!

    I am in shock at both “Jesuits in space” and “Jews in space”. I had never heard about any of those titles, but they sound fantastic.

    I am really glad you liked “Never Let Me Go” because I know I have to read it (and watch the movie), but I still haven’t even bought it! I read another Ishiguro, “When We were Orphans” and it was good, very complex too.

    • Hah! The Sparrow is set slightly in the future, when a scientist on Earth detects music coming from a planet near Alpha Centauri. The Jesuits secretly mount an expedition to the new planet to meet the Singers. It’s such a crazy concept, but it’s really great! History of the World, Part 1 is a hilarious Mel Brooks movie, and at the end of the movie there’s a “preview” for Part 2, which was never actually made. You can look up the Jews in Space song on YouTube. It’s super funny!

  2. 1. Thank you for getting Jews in Space stuck in my head – not really something appropriate to be muttering quietly to yourself on the bus 🙂
    2. The Sparrow sounds like an interesting read
    3. Is “readerkins” yours? When I steal it occasionally in my writing and, I’m predicting, daily in my speaking, I would like to know who to credit for this genius. -Tania

    • Haha! Yeah, you probably shouldn’t sing that on the bus 😛

      I have no idea if readerkins is mine. There’s a pretty good chance I read it on Twitter or a blog somewhere and unconsciously picked it up, but I don’t know where I might have seen it!

  3. Must be something about this past month – it’s been a silent writing period for a few of us! Think I’m snapping out of it though – finishing In the Blood, oh so good! And moving on to All the Light We Cannot See next, so glad to hear you liked it.

  4. I read ‘Never Let me Go’ sometime back and it completely shook me with its theme and background. There was a sadness that I felt for days, its subject too deep in the message it sent across. But I guess that was the whole point of the book and that’s what made it such a fascinating read. Will definitely give the other two you mentioned a go. Great blog BTW 🙂

What say you?

