Literary Links: 3/8 – 3/14

Happy Saturday, readerkins! Start off the weekend right with five bookish news stories from the last week.

1. The Tournament of Books continued this week! I’m listing the results below, but click through to read the captivating commentary.

  • The Good Lord Bird by James McBride defeated The Tuner of Silences by Mia Couto
  • The Signature of All Things by Elizabeth Gilbert prevailed against The Dinner by Herman Koch
  • Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell beat The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri
  • The Son by Philipp Meyer won over At Night We Walk in Circles by Daniel Alarcon
  • The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt defeated Long Division by Kiese Laymon

2. Speaking of The Goldfinch… it’s going to be adapted for the screen! It will be produced by the same company that’s behind the Hunger Games movies, but it’s unclear yet whether the adaptation will be a movie or a TV series. It’s such a sprawling, epic book that I hope the series option wins out!

3. The Twitter Fiction Festival is happening this week! Running from March 12 to 16, this event features original works of fiction broadcasted via Twitter! My favorite is Anthony Marra’s “erotic inner life of Mr. Bates from Downton Abbey” piece. I was in stitches reading it! Check out the website to learn more about the event and read some great fiction.

4. Keith Richards, of Rolling Stones fame, has written a children’s book. Little, Brown for Young Readers is releasing Gus & Me: The Story of My Granddad and My First Guitar both as a hardcover with CD and as an e-book on Sept. 9. I am… intrigued.

5. According to the BBC, most people have read only 6 books from their list of 100 classics. A quiz allowing readers to tally their number has been floating around my Facebook feed, and the results I’ve seen tell a rather different story from the BBC’s! I’ve read 34 of the 100 books. How about you?

9 thoughts on “Literary Links: 3/8 – 3/14

  1. I read 41 on that list. Glad James McBride won as type up! He was part of my inspiration for writing and starting my blog, when I read The Color of Water.

    There’s another tournament going between heroes and villains. I’ll have to find the link!

  2. I’ve read 70 of those books, but mostly due to school requirements.

    And Keith Richards, I will have to check that out. My expectations will be rather low, hopefully I’ll be pleasantly surprised.

What say you?

