Five Marvelous March Releases

march releases.jpgI know you’re all still catching your breath after the excitement of the launch of my Literary Links feature on Friday (ha!), but do you think you can handle another feature? Yes? Okay. At the beginning of each month, I’ll write a post featuring five books that will be released that month. Some will be books I’ve already read and loved, and others will be books I haven’t read but am excited about! Sound good? Here are my picks for March!

The Blazing World by Siri Hustvedt. Simon and Schuster, March 11. After years of being ignored by the art world, Harriet Burden conceals her female identity behind three male pseudonyms. Presented as a collection of texts edited after the artist’s death, this novel addresses the influence of prejudice, fame, and desire on how we perceive art. This is next up on my TBR pile, and I can’t wait to read it!

Mannequin Girl by Ellen Litman. WW Norton, March 17.  When the daughter of young Jewish intellectual parents in Soviet Russia is diagnosed with rapidly progressing scoliosis, she finds herself in a school-sanatorium for children with spinal ailments. Despite her metal brace and the sanatorium’s unsympathetic atmosphere, she strives for the courage to break free from all of the constraints that bind her.

Visible City by Tova Mirvis. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, March 18. Set in a New York City neighborhood, this novel follows a frustrated mother of young children, an aging couple who have grown apart, and a young woman who feels trapped by her relationship. I read this book in February and really enjoyed its representation of relationships in different stages.

Every Day is for the Thief by Teju Cole. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, March 18. After many years away, a man returns to his hometown of Lagos feeling like both a foreigner and a local. Exploring the dynamic city, this young writer witnesses all kinds of behaviors, reconnects with old friends and family, and compares present-day Lagos to the city of his memory. In doing so he learns about changes in himself, revealing layers of his soul.

Sleep Donation by Karen Russell. Atavist Books, March 25. This new novella, about a woman who joins an organization that helps people donate sleep to those without it, will be available in digital format only. I’m less than thrilled that I’ll have to read this on my phone (still e-readerless), but excitement for new words written by Karen Russell outweighs any negative feeling about format. (See my reviews for St. Lucy’s Home for Girls Raised by WolvesSwamplandia!, and Vampires in the Lemon Grove.)

What March releases are you most excited about?

15 thoughts on “Five Marvelous March Releases

    • I just started The Blazing World last night! Not sure quite how I feel about it yet; it might be too sophisticated for me 😛

      Soooo many books!

    • Thanks! If there’s one thing I’ve learned in two years of blogging, it’s that brief is best. If I won’t take the time to read through a list of 20 books, I’m not going to post them, either!

      • You definitely have a point about being brief! I’m sure a lot of people think more is better in the hopes there might be a something that appeals to everyone who stops by, but there is a lot of power in good editing — and it says more about the individual blogger than throwing everything into one big pot, I think anyway 🙂 Even if I don’t like the particular choices, I think a more curated collection is a great approach.

  1. I loved “Keep Your Friends Close” by Paula Daly (released on the 13th) because it’s film noir meets thriller and have a perfect baby book together. OK, the simile may be funny, but it’s a great book for mystery/thriller fans!

  2. Ooh I really like this new feature! 🙂 I added Mannequin Girl and Sleep Donation to my TBR list! Side note: I love how Mannequin Girl is set in the 80s, yet is classified as “historical fiction” on Goodreads. It’s so weird that that is actually technically true!

  3. I’m SO excited about this new feature, because I feel like I never have any idea about when anything comes out. Ever. I didn’t know Karen Russel had something going on! I can’t wait. The Blazing World sounds interesting too, but I’m already reading Middlesex. It’s just like can I even handle thinking more about gender when I’m also taking a Psychology of Women course too? Looking forward to see what you think of it, though.

    • I’m glad to be of service! Haha, you might want to wait a few months for The Blazing World, then 😛 I’m in the middle of it right now, and it’s pretty heavy. Good, but not an easy read by any means.

What say you?

