February Reads

feb reads 2Happy 28th my lovely readerkins! I don’t know about you, but I am so glad February is coming to an end. It’s been a long, freezing month, and I’m ready for the gradual warming March will (hopefully) bring.

This was not a great month for me. I hit a reading AND blogging slump. I didn’t have much reading time, I couldn’t finish a book that I had really been enjoying, and I lost all motivation to write about anything. None of the literary fiction on my shelves appealed to me; it all seemed to heavy, too serious. I needed something light and fun. By the end of the month, I turned the reading slump around by gobbling up Fangirl, a cute YA read outside my usual comfort zone. Still not quite back to normal, I decided to ignore the March galleys I “should” be reading and grabbed The Word Exchange, which isn’t coming out until April. But it was just what I needed! It’s funny and clever and a love letter to language.

I also finally joined a fitness center! I’ve been enjoying getting back into swimming and trying out a few classes. So far I’ve done yoga (love) and cycling (never going back). I’m still struggling to make fitness part of my routine, but it’ll get there!

February also wrapped up Jazz Age January. It was a fantastic event; thanks to everyone who participated!

Books Read

feb reads.jpg

Wake by Anna Hope
The Encyclopedia of Early Earth by Isabel Greenberg
Visible City by Tova Mirvis
Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
The Word Exchange by Alena Graedon
Radiance of Tomorrow by Ishmael Beah

Pages Read

This month: 1,777
This year: 4,403

Books Reviewed

feb reviews.jpg

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald. My final read for Jazz Age January! Man, this book just gets better every time I read it.

The Encyclopedia of Early Earth by Isabel Greenberg. I took a leap and read my first graphic novel… and I kind of fell in love. The illustrations are gorgeous, and I loved the blending of mythologies.

The Free by Willy Vlautin. This depressing but ultimately hopeful novel brings together an Iraq war veteran trapped in his own mind, a struggling father working two jobs to pay medical bills, and a kind-hearted nurse who grows attached to a patient.

A Rogue by Any Other Name by Sarah MacLean. This was my first foray into romance! I enjoyed the sexy bits and the strong heroine, but I couldn’t help rolling my eyes at some of the writing.

Wake by Anna Hope. Set in the wake of WWI, this novel follows three women whose lives have been touched by war. I really enjoyed this novel and thought it was very well done excepting a few small flaws.

Other Posts

Ten Books That Will Make You Cry
Jazz Age January: Week 5 Linkup/Wrap Up
Literary Blog Hop
Literally… The Best App for Readers
Why I Love Being a Reader and Blogger
Negative Reviews: To Post or Not to Post?
Ten Books I Read Because of Other Bloggers

March Plans

In March I plan to read The Blazing World by Siri Hustvedt, Bald New World by Peter Tieryas Liu, and Byron Easy by Jude Cook for review. I think I’ll also read a Stephen King book for King’s March, hosted by Wensend and Fourth Street Review! I’ve never read him before and I have no idea what book to pick, but it’ll be another great reading-outside-my-comfort-zone challenge!

March will also see the launch of the BSV redesign and move to self hosting! Tom has been hard at work making a gorgeous new theme, and I can’t wait to share it with you all!

What did you read in February? Any plans for March?

18 thoughts on “February Reads

  1. I do love yoga. It’s so expensive to do drop in and I can’t afford a studio membership on top of gym stuff. I need to make myself do more of the awesome ones online.

  2. February has been much the same for me so March is looking pretty good to me from here. That’s still an impressive page count for a slumping month. Here’s to March! Looking forward to seeing your redesign, that must be very exciting for you 🙂

  3. I’m with you on struggling to make fitness a part of my daily life. It’s just so much better to sit around and read a great book! But I’m getting married this year so it’s less of a want and more of a necessity. If you liked yoga, I suspect you would also enjoy pilates!

  4. I’ve read some pretty good books in February and made a little dent in the Challenge book pile. But I keep starting new books before finishing old ones, so I am currently “reading” 10 books. I have to just pick one and stick with it for a while. I’ll be curious to read how you like the Hustvedt book. I hope it will get you completely over your slump.

  5. Reading Visible City after I finish the Divergent books. I kinda did what you did – ignored some books I needed to read for March and read the Divergent trilogy just because I really wanted to. Need to stop and read what you please to fix slumps and prevent them.

    • Definitely; I’m sure we all try our best to read and review books in a timely manner, but sometimes we have to follow our whims to keep reading/blogging from feeling like a job.

  6. I’ve never even heard of The Word Exchange, but the title intrigues me. The Visible City is coming up on my TBR list as well. Having a blogging and reading slump is rough. Do you follow the Tournament of Books? It excites me every year and might get you back into things.

    • I do follow TOB, and I took Americanah out from the library, but I didn’t have a chance to read it! I had three books come in at the same time, two of which were new releases, and my library system only lets you take out new books for one week! But I’m hoping to read some TOB books soon, though.

  7. There must me something in the air in February and March, because for the last two years I have hit a reading and writing slump as well.

    I am so, very excited for your new design! I may even hire you to revamp my blog 😀 I’ll pay you in books if that’s OK 😉

    • Maybe winter brings us all down?

      I really know nothing about blog design; Tom’s a web designer, so he’s doing all the design and coding work!

  8. I have to agree with Elena. It seems quite a few of us readers had a not-so-great February. March is definitely welcome! I read a lot of Anna Karenina and a few other books that I keep forgetting due to the afore-mentioned book’s length. Hoping to read Wake this month. Looking forward to seeing your redesign 🙂

  9. I’m in the club of not-so-great February readers 😉
    I had exams at university and well, I couldn’t read as much as I wished. But fortunately March is here 😀

What say you?

