Jazz Age January: Week 5 Linkup and Wrap Up

jazzageHello there flappers and fellas! Can you believe this is the final linkup for Jazz Age January?! Thank you so much to everyone who has participated. When I came up with this event, I thought maybe five people would sign up. You guys blew my expectations out of the water. I’m excited to announce that 24 bloggers have participated, sharing a total of 52 posts about 22 different books!

I had a lot of fun with this reading challenge. It pushed me to read a few books on my Classics Club list, re-read an old favorite, and learn more about the jazz age and its authors. I hope Jazz Age January broadened some of your horizons, too!

Flappers

This week, instead of featuring last week’s posts, I’m going to share all of the posts linked up over the last month, sorted by book. This way you can easily see what everyone wrote about! If you have a post that you haven’t linked up yet, you may link to it using the Mister Linky after this paragraph. I will continue adding posts to this list for the rest of the week. (All posts must be linked by Feb. 15.) Posts from last week’s linkup are indicated with two asterisks (**), and links that I add from this week are indicated with one asterisk (*).

The Posts

The Beautiful and Damned by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Born of Illusion by Teri Brown

Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh

Bright Young Things by D.K. Taylor

Careless People: Murder, Mayhem, and the Invention of The Great Gatsby by Sarah Churchwell

The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty

Cocaine Blues by Kerry Greenwood

The Diviners by Libba Bray

Dollface by Renee Rosen

Down and Out in Paris and London by George Orwell

A Farewell to Arms by Ernest Hemingway

Found Meals of the Lost Generation by Suzanne Rodriguez-Hunter

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

The Last Tycoon by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Live by Night by Dennis Lehane

A Moveable Feast by Ernest Hemingway

Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf

The Other Typist by Suzanne Rindell

The Paris Wife by Paula McLain

Shorecliff by Ursula Young

The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway

This Side of Paradise by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Vile Bodies by Evelyn Waugh

Vixen by Jillian Larkin

Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Therese Anne Fowler

Miscellaneous posts

Giveaway

I bet you want to know about the giveaway I promised, right? As I said in the start post, I am giving away one copy of a book from Penguin’s Fitzgerald Classics editions. After the linkup closes on Feb. 15, I will enter all of the posts into a spreadsheet and use random.org to pick a winner. Each post a blogger shares will earn him/her one point. (Ex, I linked up five posts, so I would earn five points in the drawing if I were eligible.) I will notify the winner via email, and he/she will have one week to respond with his/her choice of book and mailing address.

Looking Forward

Based on the success of this year’s event, I think I will hold Jazz Age January again next year! If you have any ideas to make this challenge better (thematically or how it’s run) please let me know! This is the first reading challenge I’ve ever held, and I would love feedback.

Thank you to everyone who participated! You’re dolls, all of you.

20 thoughts on “Jazz Age January: Week 5 Linkup and Wrap Up

  1. Thanks so much for hosting this event! It was the bee’s knees! And I think we must all do our best to bring back the word ‘spifflicated.’ It is a great loss to the language this fell out of fashion.

  2. I’d like to thank you for your efforts re the Jazz Age. It’s a time that I’ve never given much thought to previously. I’m now reading The Paris Wife and A Moveable Feast (I’ve never read anything by Ernest Hemmingway prior to your posts). And I’m saving this post so I can utilise the list of books and related blog posts.

  3. Just wanted to say thank you for hosting, it was a great event and I will definitely participate again. I had heaps of fun and have lots of ideas for further reading. Thanks again for hosting a great reading event.

  4. Pingback: Belated Jazz Age January Movie | ravenscroftcloud

What say you?

