Jazz Age January: Week 2 Linkup

jazzageHello flappers and fellas! We’re onto week 2 of Jazz Age January, and I’ve been having a ball. I’m really enjoying reading a lot of different books about the jazz age, as well as your posts about your own reading!

Since last week’s linkup, I have read Carless People: Murder, Mayhem, and the Invention of the Great Gatsby by Sarah Churchwell and The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald. I hadn’t planned on reading Gatsby, but after reading 350 pages about its creation, I couldn’t help myself! I’m a bit behind on my reviews, though; this week, I wrote about last week’s reading of A Moveable Feast by Earnest Hemingway.

Last week nine of you linked up posts!

1. I reviewed The Paris Wife by Paula McLaine. I enjoyed this novel, which is written in Hemingway’s first wife Hadley’s perspective. It was especially interesting to think about in relation to A Moveable Feast!

2. My Book Strings also wrote about The Paris Wife. She enjoyed reading about Hadley and Ernest’s marriage from Hadley’s perspective, and she appreciated the book’s neutral tone.

3. Tiny Library also (also!) shared her thoughts on The Paris Wife. Although she had a few problems with the writing and characterization, Sam thought this novel was a fun read that captured the spirit of 1920s Paris.

4. The Genteel Arsenal wrote about Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Therese Anne Fowler. Although she questions a few of the author’s narrative choices, Arabella enjoyed the book, and it left her wanting to read more about Zelda.

5. 52 Books or Bust wrote about Shorecliff by Ursula DeYoung. Although this novel is set in the early 1920s, Tanya was disappointed that this family drama didn’t have a pronounced jazz age feel.

6. Ciska’s Book Chest wrote about her love of jazz music! She shared an interesting, informative post about jazz’s development in New York and Chicago during the ’20s. She even included a fantastic jazz playlist for readers to listen to.

7. Kasia in Transit, Redux took a really interesting approach to this event. She examined racial representation in the fiction of the ’20s. Although much of jazz age culture — the music, the dancing — had roots in black culture, African Americans were largely ignored in the literature of the time. With this in mind, Kasia read “How it Feels to be Colored Me,” an essay by Zora Neal Hurston, published in 1928.

8. EM Castellan reviewed Dollface by Renee Rosen, a novel about a flapper who becomes entangled with two men who turn out to be mobsters. She thought it was an excellent piece of historical fiction, and she enjoyed reading this story from a female perspective.

9. Valerie R Lawson also wrote about Dollface! She was impressed by Rosen’s vivid portrayal of this rich historical setting and her ability to create complex family relationships. She is generously giving away a copy of this book!

Thank you to everyone who shared posts last week!

If you wrote a post for Jazz Age January this week, please link to it using the Mister Linky below. Please note that this link-up is only for posts that have gone live on or before Jan. 18. If you post something for JAJ after Jan. 18, please wait until next week’s link-up to share it. Next week, in addition to posting another link-up, I will do another round-up of the posts shared this week. As a reminder, the next link-up will be held next Saturday, Jan. 25.

What roaring ’20s reading did you do this week?

15 thoughts on “Jazz Age January: Week 2 Linkup

  1. A bit of a slow reading week this week but I did finish Evelyn Waugh’s Vile Bodies. Thanks for hosting this Leah, really enjoying the Jazz age focus and it has me thinking about a number of different books and authors I would like to explore further.

  2. Leah, I’m looking forward to your review of Careless People — I’m reading it now and hope to review it on the 25th. It’s fascinating, but it’s a hard book to pick up and put down — I need more uninterrupted reading time!

  3. I have fun reading everyone’s reviews. And I’m still enjoying the Jazz Age focus of my current books. I reviewed Z by Therese Anne Fowler this week. I didn’t like it as much as The Paris Wife. I noticed that people seem to like either one or the other, but not both.

  4. I’m still reading A Moveable Feast, which I’m finding a fascinating read, although a little jarring in presentation, but I guess that’s to be expected considering. I have The Beautiful and the Damned lined up right behind it. I am really enjoying this event, Leah.

  5. Leah, I don’t know if they’re erasable, but when I went to the Linky, my info for Goldfinch was already in there (from linking to the Chunkster challenge site). I bumped GO on accident and it posted :/

    I did go back and post my real post for this week though!

  6. How was Careless People? Amazing? It sounded it but sometimes those books you hype up in your imagination let you down…
    Reading Z also left me wanting to know more about Zelda! I toyed with reading Save me the Waltz for Jazz-Age January, but I think I’m going to go with the new Robuck I mentioned.

  7. I reviewed Z this week. I loved it and definitely preferred it to The Paris Wife. My love for Zelda has come flooding back so I’m thinking I may search out a biography or some of her less known works. For now, I’m moving on to Careless People.

  8. What a fabulous idea! Love the roaring ’20s and that there’s been more books written lately set in those pivotal moments. I’ve been wanting to read Zelda and now I have several other books to add to my list after seeing these reviews! Wonderful idea!

  9. Pingback: Tuesday Mashup | Traveling With T

What say you?

