Jazz Age January: Sign Up

jazzage
Step right up guys and dolls, Bettys and old boys, flappers and fellas! The year is winding down and I want to party like it’s 1925.

I’ve been in a Roaring ’20s spirit lately, and I’ve decided to run with it. I’ve never hosted an event on my blog before, but I’m excited to announce my first! Get ready for Jazz Age January. I have a feeling it’s going to be the bees knees… the cat’s pajamas, if you will. I’m nearly copacetic with excitement. (How much ’20s slang can I fit in one blog post? Let’s find out.)

Know Your Onions (or what this baloney is all about):

I’m inviting bloggers to read books related to the Jazz Age during the month of January. Readers are welcome to read novels written by Jazz Age authors, non-fiction about the ’20s, and contemporary fiction set during this time period.

After doing some research, I’ve come up with a list of recommended books, but readers are welcome (and encouraged) to read outside of these titles; I’d love to learn about Jazz Age books I don’t know about yet!

Recommended Reading:

Books by Jazz Age authors:

  • The Beautiful and Damned – F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • Save Me the Waltz – Zelda Fitzgerald
  • A Moveable Feast – Ernest Hemingway
  • The Sun Also Rises – Ernest Hemingway
  • The Autobiography of Alice B. Toklas – Gertrude Stein

Non-fiction:

  • Careless People: Murder, Mayhem, and the Invention of The Great Gatsby – Sarah Churchwell (pub. Jan. 23)
  • Zelda – Nancy Milford
  • Ernest Hemingway: The Paris Years – Michael Reynolds
  • The Poisoner’s Handbook: Murder and the Birth of Forensic Medicine in Jazz Age New York – Deborah Blum
  • Flapper: A Madcap Story of Sex, Style, Celebrity, and the Women Who Made America Modern – Joshua Zeitz
  • Anything Goes: A Biography of the Roaring Twenties – Lucy Moore

Contemporary fiction:

  • The Paris Wife – Paula McLain
  • Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald – Therese Anne Fowler
  • Call Me Zelda – Erika Robuck
  • The Chaperone – Laura Moriarty
  • The Other Typist – Suzanne Rindell

How to Participate:

All you have to do to participate in this event is read at least one Jazz Age book and write about it on your blog! I plan to read ’20s books all month, but participants are free to read as many or few books for this event as they please.

If you plan on joining the fun, please sign up using the Mister Linky widget at the bottom of this post. The event will start on January 1, and I will post weekly linkups for participants to share their posts. Non-review/reflection posts are welcome, too! Feel free to write informational posts about the Jazz Age and its authors, recommendation lists, or anything that catches your fancy.

Please grab the button at the top of this post and post it somewhere on your blog, like in an introductory post or in the sidebar, to share this event with others and help spread the word!

If you’d like to share your posts or discuss the event on Twitter, use the hashtag #JazzAgeJanuary.

Giveaway:

jazz age january prizes
In addition to reading some amazing books and learning about this fascinating period of time, participants will have the chance to win a book of their choice from Penguin’s beautifully designed Fitzgerald Classics editions. I’m so in love with the art deco covers on these hardbacks!

I will announce the full details of this giveaway in the event’s start post on Jan. 1, so make sure to check in!

Sign-Up Linky:

Well, I’d best be off. I’m totally zozzled on white lightning, and I’m getting the bum’s rush to clear out of this speakeasy. I’ll see all you Janes and dewdroppers at the starting line next month!

103 thoughts on “Jazz Age January: Sign Up

  1. Exciting! I was in the 20s mood earlier this year when I read a bunch of books based on Zelda Fitzgerald. However, I’d like to post on the book that snagged me, The Great Gatsby. I know it’s a bit hyped, but I’m hoping that I can bring some different or more intricate views since I’ve taught it so many times. Let me know, I can change it if needed.

    • Okay, don’t hold me to that choice. I just realized I have the memoir written by Zelda Fitzgerald’s granddaughter! I can read it during Christmas break. It’s a bit more unknown and probably filled with interesting insider stuff. (Also out of print, but can be bought from Amazn Market.)

  2. Congrats on your first event! Sounds like a great one. A couple of the books you listed are on my TBR pile, so I can definitely commit to reading at least one. Sounds like fun!

    I’m thoroughly impressed by your use of 20s slang. Wowzers.

  3. Oooh, what a great sounding challenge! I’ll definitely have a think about participating! Love the 20s and I was actually at a 20s themed bar on Saturday!

  4. I am committing to reading at least one and I might like it and challenge myself to read more. Great idea by the way!!

  5. Pingback: Thursday Mashup | Traveling With T

  6. Pingback: EVENT | Jazz Age January | Wensend

  7. Pingback: Jazz Age January Reading Challenge | lustandcoffee

  8. Pingback: Spread the Love Linky Party: Co-hosted by Books Speak Volumes |

  9. This sounds like so much fun! I can’t wait to try this out. Looks like you have a lot of people interested as well. Good luck with your first event! I’m sure it’ll be the talk of the Jacks and Jills. (I need the 20s slang dictionary, lol.)

  10. I read a lot of the contemporary fiction titles you have listed here earlier this year, and have been meaning to go back and read some nonfiction from the era to supplement that. I’ve also got The Sun Also Rises waited for me, so this seemed the perfect excuse to get me moving!

  11. What a great idea — there are so many great books (novels and nonfiction) about the Jazz Age. I will post on Careless People — I’m organizing an event for the author. I just read Dollface by Renee Rosen — wonderful Roaring Twenties book, set in Chicago. I posted an author interview on my blog, Books on the Table.

  12. Well, since you said we only need to read ONE, I signed up. It’s pretty terrific that Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald just happens to be one of the recent books I picked up and haven’t gotten to yet. Looking forward to seeing what we all come up with.

  13. One of the first events I’ve ever signed up for and I’m definitely excited to start the new year off with some Jazz age read. Thanks Leah!
    – JY

  14. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: My Winter TBR List | 52 books or bust

  15. Pingback: Bookish & Not So Bookish Thoughts… | Turn the Page Reviews

  16. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up (#12) |

  17. Wow! This sounds like such fun! I’m definitely in. I’m not sure what I’ll be reading, but it’ll definitely be by Fitzgerald or Hemingway. Talk about a fun and exciting way to kick off the new year πŸ˜‰

  18. Pingback: L’Assommoir by Emile Zola | My Book Strings

  19. This sounds sooo fun! I already know what my 1st read will be. I have Tales of the Jazz Age, F. Scott Fitzgerald’s 2nd collection of shorts. I’ve been meaning to get to it and had already thought of starting off 2014 with it. Perfect!

  20. So apparently I was being crushed by uni when you first posted about this and now I’m not sure I’ll have enough time to get my hands on a 20’s book. But I will try my best because this does sound like such a great event and I’ve had a ton of fun reading the Great Gatsby so I’m sure I’ll enjoy other books from the same decade.

    Anyway, good luck with event! πŸ™‚

    • Oh no! Well, the event runs all month, and the last linkup will actually be Feb. 8 (to give people reading at the end of the month time to finish up and write their posts), so there’s plenty of time if you want to join!

  21. Pingback: January 2014 TBR |

  22. Wow I just stumbled across your Jazz reading event which is so serendipitous, I just started reading Z a novel of Zelda Fitzgerald. I read a few related titles last year and feel like some more Jazz age reading, so if it is not to late I would love to join in on this event. I may only read a couple of titles starting with Z a novel of Zelda Fitzgerald. I will put up a sign up post some time today. Thanks for hosting this event.

  23. Pingback: Jazz Age January | EM Castellan

  24. Pingback: Jazz Age January | Book of words

  25. Pingback: Jazz Age January | Foofaraw

  26. Pingback: Literature of the 1920′s at it’s Finest. | al inizio

  27. I am just beginning my own blog & was already planning on reading some 1920’s inspired literature when I found your event. Since I’ve already torn through the first few short stories in F. Scott Fitzgerald’s Tales of the Jazz Age this month I figured that’d be a good place to begin with this event, perfect way to start off my blogging for the new year!

  28. I just found this post– I know we’re a week into January, but is it too late to join? One of my goals this year is to participate more with the literary blogging community, and this would be a great way to start.

    • Definitely not too late to join! I’ll be posting weekly link-ups every Saturday, and the last one won’t be until Feb. 8; plenty of time to read and write about a Jazz Age book! Thanks for signing up πŸ™‚

  29. Pingback: jazz age january: hello dolls | kasia in transit, redux

  30. Pingback: January #writemotivation Week 1 | valerie r lawson

  31. Pingback: Shorecliff by Ursula DeYoung | 52 books or bust

  32. Pingback: Jazz Age January Event – Review of Dollface by RenΓ©e Rosen with Giveaway! | valerie r lawson

  33. Pingback: Jazz Age January: The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty | Words For Worms

  34. Pingback: The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty {Book Review} |

  35. Pingback: The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway - Love at First Book

  36. Pingback: The Paris Wife by Paula McLain

  37. Pingback: The Other Typist by Susan Rindell {Book Review} |

  38. Pingback: Jazz Age January Event – Review of A Moveable Feast by Ernest Hemingway | valerie r lawson

  39. Pingback: A Moveable Feast by Ernest Hemingway - Love at First Book

  40. Pingback: January Round Up | 52 books or bust

  41. Pingback: Jazz Age January Event – Review of The Beautiful and Damned | valerie r lawson

  42. Pingback: Jazz Age January Event – Review of Mrs. Dalloway | valerie r lawson

What say you?

