Top Ten Books on My Fall TBR List

The weather is cooling off, leaves are starting to change colors, and pumpkin spice lattes have made their joyous return. Fall is quickly approaching, and I don’t know about you, but I can’t wait for it to get here. I am all about getting cozy in flannel, jeans, and cute boots on a crisp sunny day — or nestling under soft blankets on those perfectly gloomy rainy afternoons. Incidentally fall is ALSO a pretty great season for books! I just finished my first fall book of the year, Songs of Willow Frost, and it was pretty fantastic.

It just so happens that this week the folks over at The Broke and the Bookish ask bloggers to list the top ten books on our fall TBR lists for Top Ten Tuesday. I’m super excited about some of the books I’ll be reading over the next few months!

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books On Your Fall TBR List


1. A Vindication of the Rights of Woman by Mary Wollstonecraft. Two of my favorite books, The Bell Jar and The Handmaid’s Tale, are feminist works, and I’ve been wanting to learn more about actual feminist philosophy. I picked up a really beautiful copy of this book from the Penguin Great Ideas series on  a whim at my local indie bookstore last week, and I’m looking forward to reading it!

2. Beloved by Toni Morrison. For totally irrational reasons, I’ve been afraid to read Toni Morrison, and I’ve had two of her books languishing unread on my shelf for longer than I’d like to admit. But Banned Books Week is coming up (Sept. 22 to 28, mark your calendars!), and I’m going to celebrate by tackling Beloved!

3. Mind Without a Home: A Memoir of Schizophrenia  by Kristina Morgan. Reading novels like The Bell Jar and Leave of Absence has made me really interested in learning more about mental illness. When Lisa of TLC Book Tours asked if I’d like to join the tour for this book, I jumped at the chance to get inside the head of a woman suffering from this highly stigmatized illness.

4. The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman. I nabbed a hardcover copy of this book from the bargain table at Barnes & Noble a few months ago, and it somehow seems like a good fall read. I’ve read tons of great reviews of this novel, and I can’t wait to finally read it!

5. We Are Water by Wally Lamb. I’ve never read Wally Lamb, but I’ve heard great things about his work. I was thrilled to jump on the TLC tour for his new book! The story sounds wonderful, and the galley is absolutely beautiful.

6. Mountainfit by Meera Lee Sethi. This memoir about Sethi’s time as a volunteer at a tiny bird observatory in far western Sweden might not be my typical read, but it seems like a really lovely little book. Lori of The Next Best Book Blog, also the marketing director for CCLaP, kindly sent me the PDF, and it will be really nice to spend a few quiet hours with it.

7. The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt. You guys, I have a galley, sitting on my windowsill! I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about this book (and Tartt’s other work), and I was psyched to win a copy from Bloggers Recommend. I can’t wait to dive into this chunkster.

8. A gothic novel. I read Wuthering Heights last October, and it was a perfect chilly, rainy-day read. I’d love to read something with a similar tone again this fall. So, readers: Should I read Rebecca or Jane Eyre?

9. The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith (a.k.a. J.K. Rowling). Crime novels aren’t really my thing, but I couldn’t resist picking up the new J.K. Rowling, whatever genre it is. Who knows, maybe this book will convert me.

10. Brewster by Mark Slouka. The author did a reading in Buffalo a few weeks ago, so I bought a copy and had it signed. It’s a coming of age story about a teen boy in a dead-end upstate NY town in the late 1960s, and based on the reading, it seems like the perfect blend of nostalgia and disappointment.

30 thoughts on “Top Ten Books on My Fall TBR List

  1. Lucky you for having a copy of The Goldfinch! That’s on my list. Although I’m nervous that Tartt will never write anything like The Secret History again. I want to read The Cuckoo’s Calling too.

  2. I just picked up Songs of Willow Frost last night and can’t wait to start it — I will be lucky enough to meet Jamie Ford at Booktopia in Petoskey,MI next week. I also can’t wait to read The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri and MaddAddam by Margaret Atwood, two of my favorite writers.
    The Light Between Oceans is very good and makes for excellent discussion.
    Happy reading!

    • Lucky you! The Lowland sounds excellent, and of course Margaret Atwood is amazing. I still need to read the first two books of the trilogy before MaddAddam, though.

      Happy reading to you too!

  3. The Light Between Oceans is AMAZING! But have a big box of tissues nearby.
    For a gothic novel, Jane Eyre all the way – have you never read it before?? I also really enjoyed The Meaning of Night (author forgotten).

    • I’m not much of a book crier, so I think I’ll be okay?
      Nope, never read Jane Eyre. I’m only 23, and I’m really just beginning to dip my toes into classic lit.

  4. I have Jane Eyre also on my list (I don’t have a fall list, but I should!); I haven’t read it, and it is a classic I NEED to read; I’m sure I’ll love it.

      • Wuthering Heights was the opposite for me: I expected to love it, but it disappointed me a little because I think it is not a love story, but a story of sadness, revenge and suffering πŸ˜›
        I wanted a little bit more of love! πŸ˜‰

  5. The Cuckoo’s Calling is also on my TBR pile, waiting for the perfect moment to read a crime novel, tucked in bed with a good, heavy blanket and a hot tea while the rain falls and it’s 10ΒΊC outside πŸ˜€

  6. I didn’t love Wuthering Heights either – but Jane Eyre was fantastic. Rebecca is on my list.
    On another note – I can’t believe you don’t like crime fiction! It’s the greatest guilty pleasure genre! Agatha Christie, Camilla Lackberg, Ian Rankin! I hope Rowling does comvert you – The Cuckoo’s Calling was a quality example of crime fiction but then everything Rowling does is great.

What say you?

