Ten Books I Would Love to See Adapted For the Screen

I had forgotten how much fun participating in Top Ten Tuesday can be! I joined in for the first time in about a year last week and really enjoyed it. I think I’m going to make it a regular feature on my blog again. I won’t be participating every week, but I’ll certainly join in when I like the topic! This week’s theme is a tough one. The folks over at The Broke and the Bookish ask bloggers to list the top ten books they would love to see as a movie/TV show… in a perfect world in which Hollywood doesn’t butcher the books we love. This was difficult because so many of the books I love have already been ruined by the big screen! But I valiantly struggled on and came up with a pretty good list.

Top Ten Tuesday

1. The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker. A coming-of-age-story about an 11-year-old girl that happens to take place as the earth’s rotation starts to slow and they days and nights become increasingly longer, this book is one of my favorites. It would be really visually interesting because of the changing cycle of day/night, and it’s also a great story. Done right, it would be excellent on film.

2. Room by Emma Donoghue. Who can resist an epically creepy story about a five-year-old boy who has never left the room he was born in because his mother is being held captive? This would make for a crazy intense, adrenaline pumping movie.

3. The Round House by Louise Erdrich. I just finished reading this book, and I think the story of a thirteen year old Indian boy trying to solve the mystery of his mother’s horrific rape (and take revenge on the rapist) would translate really well to film. There’s underage drinking,  great friendships, a really interesting cast of characters, and enough tension to keep viewers riveted.

4. Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple. The book is funny, quirky, and smart, and I think it could make a really fun movie — especially if the screenplay were to be written by the author, who was a writer for Arrested Development. The novel is written in an epistolary format, and a good filmmaker could find really fun ways to incorporate the letters, emails, memos, etc. into the film.

5. Burial Rites by Hannah Kent. This novel, about the last few months in the life of Agnes Magnusdottir, the last person to be executed in Iceland, is one of my favorite reads of the year. The book is haunting, and Kent does a fantastic job evoking the setting. I could see the movie playing in my head as I read this book, and I would love to see it on an actual screen!

6. The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling. I think this chunkster would make a great mini series. It’s got a huge cast of characters, deep tensions, and an dark look at small town life. It would be really interesting to see all of the different plot lines sprawling out over the course of a TV season.

7. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling. I know these are already movies, but come one. They’re not all that great. I would totally watch five-hour movies that portray every glorious detail.  (And I know I’m not the only one.)

8. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. So this is already becoming a movie, and I am SO CURIOUS about how it’s going to turn out. It’s thrilling and dark and twisty, but so much of the creepiness is internal to the characters. I can’t wait to see how the filmmakers handle this one.

9. Wild by Cheryl Strayed. I’m cheating again, a little. Last I heard, Reese Witherspoon is going to produce the movie adaptation for this book, about Strayed’s solo hike on the dangerous Pacific Crest Trail. The story is a great one, and I can see this being a beautiful, inspiration movie with great opportunities for stunning cinematography!

10. Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer. This was one of my favorite books of my early teen years. (I solved the code that runs along each page and everything.)  At the time, I was desperate for it to be made into a movie, and I would still totally fork over all my money (or, you know, $10)  to see an adaptation. It’s funny, smart, and whimsical!

What books would you like to see adapted for the big (or small) screen?

10 thoughts on “Ten Books I Would Love to See Adapted For the Screen

  1. I haven’t read most of theses but I totally agree about Harry Potter and The Casual Vacancy might well work better as a mini-series than it does as a book weirdly enough. I’m not sure about Room though, I don’t think it would work on screen.

What say you?

