Audiobook Mini Reviews: Memoirs

Last week I posted a few mini reviews of audiobooks I’ve listened to in the last few months/year. Today I’m back with Round 2! This post rounds out all of the audiobooks I’ve listened to (or can remember listening to) with the exception of The Hunger Games trilogy, which I think will get its own post. Anyway, it turns out that I really like listening to memoirs by funny ladies, because that’s what three of these four books are. Without further ado, I present Audiobook Mini Reviews: Memoir Edition.

Bossypants by Tina FeyBossypants by Tina Fey, narrated by the author.

I have so much love for Tina Fey that two people (who know me very well) got me hardcover copies of her memoir for my birthday, shortly after the book came out. As much as I enjoyed reading this book, I had way more fun listening to it. What could be better than listening to Tina Fey, herself, tell you her stories about coming up in the comedy world and being a lady in charge? As anyone who’s watched 30 Rock knows, she’s crazy funny, and many an 1-90 thruway driver witnessed me laughing my ass off while listening to this book.

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy KalingIs Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling, narrated by the author.

Since I enjoyed Bossypants so much, I thought Mindy Kaling’s book would also be a great listen; smart, successful women telling funny stories? I’m in. While I enjoyed some parts of this book, I could have done without others. Did the first thing Mindy wrote about really have to be her weight and eating habits? Why are these the things we need to know up front? They are not the most interesting things about her, and I wished she hadn’t led her memoir with weight issues. But other than a few other problems like this, her book was funny and interesting to listen to.

Let's Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny LawsonLet’s Pretend this Never Happened by Jenny Lawson, narrated by the author.

Jenny Lawson, a.k.a The Bloggess, talks about growing up poor in rural Texas, where her taxidermist father threw dead animals at her and she got her arm stuck in a cow’s vagina; meeting her husband; dealing with her anxiety disorder; being a mother; and realizing that all of the awkward, uncomfortable, painful experiences she had growing up shaped the woman she became. She is irreverent and hilarious, and I lapped this book up. Warning, she will yell VAGINA at you. Numerous times.

Marley and Me by John GroganMarley and Me by John Grogan, narrated by the author.

I saw the 2008 movie adaptation movie adaptation when it came out, and although this is not a book I would ever take the time to read in print, I really enjoyed listening to it. Marley and Me is the story of a newly married couple who buy a yellow lab puppy, which turns out to be an untrainable, destructive creature. But, of course, Marley is a beloved part of the family. It’s a memoir that will warm the heart of anyone who has ever loved a dog.

4 thoughts on “Audiobook Mini Reviews: Memoirs

  1. I just got Boosypants on the mail! Won it from Trish over at Love, Laughter, and a Touch of Insanity. Can’t wait to take it on vacation. And I read Let’s Pretend This Never Happened this summer. Loved it – so funny I had to stop and tell my husband the stories that had me LOLing.

    Have you ever read any Sloane Crosley? If so, would you compare Mindy Kaling to her?

  2. I’ve read both the Fey and the Kaling but I think they’d be even better on audio 🙂 Sadly, I’ve never listened to an audiobook in my life!

  3. I couldn’t agree more with you on Bossypants. I listened to it last year and it was amazing. Actually, I listened to it while on the bus, on my way back and forth to university and I think I laughed out loud a few times, too loud, so as to have people look at me.

    I also found it really inspiring because all Tina had was a passion for her job, so much so that she didn’t even think about it as a job. And look how great it turned out!

What say you?

