Quotable Friday: from In the House Upon the Dirt Between the Lake and the Woods

“When I say belief, I do not mean I knew what I believed, not in the way I had believed before coming to the dirt, in steepled buildings made to organize such feelings. Things were odder here than they were elsewhere, and most stories were not written as clearly: On the other side of the lake, across the mountains, the truth had been inscribed in the stars, and could not be changed. Here, upon the dirt, my wife had wiped clean that sky-flung slate, and so I was not sure what to believe, or where to look to rediscover what once I had simply known.”

In the House Upon the Dirt Between the Lake and the Woods by Matt Bell

One thought on “Quotable Friday: from In the House Upon the Dirt Between the Lake and the Woods

What say you?

