On the Road!

The World is a Book and Those Who Do Not Travel Read Only a Page

One of my favorite things about books is their ability to transport me to places that I have never been in real life. Through reading, I’ve trekked across Tibet, spent a year in Paris, wandered the streets of Tokyo, hiked the Pacific Crest Trail, and made a mad dash across the US with my buddy Jack Kerouac. Of course, reading about interesting places doesn’t come close to the amazingness of actual travel, and I am a long-time sufferer of wanderlust. In the last few years, I have been fortunate enough to spend four months in London, travel to five European countries, and drive from New York to California and back. These are some of the greatest experiences of my life, and I am always eager for my next adventure… which is starting tomorrow!

“What is that feeling when you’re driving away from people and they recede on the plain till you see their specks dispersing? – it’s the too-huge world vaulting us, and it’s good-bye. But we lean forward to the next crazy venture beneath the skies.”

Early tomorrow morning, I’ll embark on a three-to-four week road trip with my family. We plan to drive around the Four Corners region, spending time at Mesa Verde,  Monument Valley, Zion, Arches, Bryce Canyon, and the Grand Canyon, among other places. The US is such a beautiful, diverse country, and I am so excited to explore a bit more of it!

But aside from bragging about my awesome travel plans, I just wanted to give a heads up that the blog will be a bit quiet for the next few weeks. I do have a few blog tour reviews scheduled, but I’ll probably be slow to respond to comments.

I hope you all have a lovely month! Does anyone else have fun travel plans for the summer?

“As we crossed the Colorado-Utah border I saw God in the sky in the form of huge gold sunburning clouds above the desert that seemed to point a finger at me and say, “Pass here and go on, you’re on the road to heaven.”

(Quotes from On the Road by Jack Kerouac)
18 thoughts on “On the Road!

  1. Have a wonderful time! I don’t have any summer vacation plans, but I’m hoping (praying? counting my pennies?) that sometime this year I’ll get to go to NYC. I’ve never been but (of course) it looks awesome!

  2. Hope you have an awesome time, that sounds like a fun trip!
    I do have a holiday coming up in your summer (though it’ll be my winter here in Australia) – I’m visiting Sweden for 2 weeks in July. The only time of year where I can go to Sweden and it’ll be warmer there (just, very just, hahaha). It’s quite exciting for a number of reasons! 🙂

What say you?

