March Reads

photo (3)

The Irish restaurant I went to for St. Patrick’s Day has a leprechaun phone booth!

I hope everyone had a nice March! Although I was super excited for spring to start this month, I’m still waiting for the weather to improve. As I type, there are piles of snow in my yard and a forecast of snow for this Tuesday and Wednesday. Spring, where are you?!

I don’t have anything exciting to report for March. With the exception of some St. Patrick’s Day fun, it was mostly a stressful, depressing month. I actually took a week off from blogging because my mind has been too cluttered to focus on writing anything. I’ll be back this week, though, and I have quite a few posts to catch up on. I’m hoping April will bring good news along with nicer weather.

Books read
Vampires in the Lemon Grove – Karen Russell
Flimsy Little Plastic Miracles – Ron Currie, Jr.
The Burgess Boys – Elizabeth Strout
Mrs. Dalloway – Virginia Woolf

Books in progress
Les Miserables – Victor Hugo

Pages read
This month: 1,662
Year to date: 5,054

Books read YTD
Completed: 15
Progress toward 52 book goal: 29% completed, 3 books ahead of schedule

Blog Posts
Reviews of books read before March:
St. Lucy’s Home for Girls Raised by Wolves – Karen Russell
Mad Girl’s Love Song – Andrew Wilson
Other:
Best Bookish Tumblrs
Top Ten Books I HAD to Buy But Still Haven’t Read

Books added to my collection
Purchased:
The Marriage Plot – Jeffrey Eugenides
Let the Great World Spin – Colum McCann
Atonement – Ian McEwan
Super Sad True Love Story – Gary Shteyngart
Salvage the Bones – Jesmyn Ward
Diving Belles – Lucy Wood

April plans

I actually have a lot of plans, reading and otherwise, for April.

I will continue reading Les Miserables at my pace of 100 pages per week. I fell a bit behind this week, but today I reached the halfway point! I’m really getting into Marius’ story and look forward to reading more.

On April 7, I will be going to the Buffalo Small Press Book Fair, an awesome literary event that I attended for the first time last year. I’ll write a post about it later this week for anyone in the area who might wish to go!

On April 24, I will most likely be participating in the Weekday Read-A-Thon hosted by The Book Wheel and Love at First Book. I usually miss read-a-thons because they typically take place on weekends, and I’m always either working or visiting with the long-distance boyfriend on weekends. I don’t know yet if I’ll be scheduled to work this day, but I hope to have the day off so I can participate to the fullest!

Lastly, my birthday is in April! I will be turning 23 on April 20, and I expect cards from ALL OF YOU. (Kidding. I just expect cake. From my parents.) I don’t have any plans yet, but I’m sure I’ll manage to get up to some sort of shenanigans!

What did you read in March? Any plans for April?

13 thoughts on “March Reads

    • It’s kind of funny that you think my reading schedule is fast; I keep seeing updates from people who read 15 books per month and then I feel like I’m a slow reader! Everyone has their own pace, though, and different time commitments.

  1. You read some great books and have even more on tap, woot woot! I really enjoyed Salvage the Bones, hope you do too!

    Have fun at the book fair! I live in a one horse town and never get a chance to do cool things like that. I’ll live vicariously through your experience ok? 😉

    Happy early birthday you adorable spring chicken you!

    • I’ve heard so many good things about Salvage the Bones! I can’t wait to read it!

      The book fair is actually two hours from where I live now, but I go there every chance I get! I’ll make sure my post-fair post is chock full of details and pictures for you 😛

      Thank you!

  2. I have had Atonement recommended to me many times, and I will probably read it in this year. Glad to see you still in progress with Les Miserables 🙂

    • Atonement has been on my list for a few years, so I was excited to see it on sale! We’ll have to compare notes once we’ve both read it 🙂

      Les Mis is coming along slowly but surely!

      • Then I will have to buy a copy soon 🙂
        I will probably start with Les Mis next month or so. I am not at all intimidated by the length, when it comes to the classics I just read until I’m done. Even if it takes months 😉

What say you?

