October Reads

watkins glen

I don’t have much to report about October; the month was mostly spent working at my part-time job, searching for an entry-level job in my field (marketing/communication), squeezing in a few visits with the long-distance boyfriend, and getting back into blogging regularly. The highlight of my month was the day trip the boyfriend and I took to Watkins Glen. We had a lovely day driving through the Finger Lakes, sampling wine at one of the many wineries along Seneca Lake, and hiking the beautiful gorge (picture at left). I’m hopeful that November will bring some change and excitement!

Books read
The Casual Vacancy – J.K. Rowling
Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte
Paris, I Love You But You’re Bringing Me Down – Rosecrans Baldwin
Birds of a Lesser Paradise – Megan Mayhew Bergman

Pages read
This month: 1,644
Year to date: 14,905

Books read YTD
Completed: 43
Progress toward 50 book goal: 86% completed, 2 books ahead of pace to accomplish goal

Books added to my collection
The End of Your Life Book Club – Will Schwalbe (I won a copy from Devourer of Books‘ giveaway for their next Book Club.)
The Crucible – Arthur Miller
The Love of a Good Woman – Alice Munro
Love in the Time of Cholera – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
The Corrections – Jonathan Franzen

November plans
Elena and I are due to finish and have our final discussion of Cloud Atlas tomorrow! Reading with her has been so much fun, and I feel like I’ve gotten a lot more out of the book from discussing each section as we go along. I am crazy impressed with this book, and I can’t wait to see the movie once I finish! I’m dying to see how it’s structured and how it carries out the book’s themes.

As mentioned above, I will be discussing The End of Your Life Book Club with Devourer of Books‘ Book Club on November 13. I have heard nothing but good things about this book, and I’m so excited to read it! (Adding to my excitement is the fact that two of my favorite bloggers, Heather of Between the Covers and Rebecca of Love at First Book, will be participating! I can’t wait to discuss with you ladies!)

What did you read in October? Any plans for November?

6 thoughts on “October Reads

  1. Your month was much more than you say, Leah! Only with the part-time work, the searching for another and the visits to your boyfriends, I don’t know how you found time to read…

    We’ll finish tomorrow: YAY! I think I have a love-hate relationship with the book, but it’s fine and, I hope, completely normal.

    Can’t wait for our future discussions, especially Alias Grace and The Casual Vacancy 🙂

    • I’m so excited for our final discussion! (I still need to read the last section, but it’s going to feel SO GOOD to finish). I think it’s probably normal to love/hate this book. I’ve just been trying to go with the flow and not bother myself with stressing about how it’s all supposed to fit together, and that helps me enjoy it!

      Yes! You’ll have to let me know when you finish The Casual Vacancy! I think we’ll have a lot to talk about 🙂

      • I finished it two days ago, but I’ve been struggling with some PhD reading (actually, finishing one of the books and seeing it does not really fit into my thesis. My mind has been screaming: “WHAT???” for some days now).

        How is Alias Grace doing?

        • Oh no, it must be a horrible feeling to realize you’ve spent so much time reading something that you can’t actually use!

          Alias Grace is good! I’ll finish tonight or tomorrow and will let you know what I thought in our email 🙂

  2. Isn’t the Fingerlakes region just beautiful? I grew up in that area, about 35 minutes north(west) of Ithaca. I miss the lakes so much. I’m so glad you had fun!

    Yay for BOOK CLUB! I’m really looking forward to talking about the book with you guys, too!

    • So beautiful! My family has rented a cottage on Keuka Lake for a week every summer for just about as long as I can remember, and it is my absolute favorite tradition 🙂

What say you?

