Musing Mondays: Book Series

For this week’s Musing Monday, the folks over at Should be Reading ask bloggers to consider the question:

“Do you have a favorite series? Do you have a favorite book out of that series?”

As an adult (it feels really weird to call myself that), I really don’t read series. I primarily read series when I was a kid; Babysitter’s Club, Boxcar Children, Sweet Valley, Saddle Club, anyone? During my teenage years, I read the Artemis Fowl and Alex Rider series. The only “adult” series I’ve read is Dan Brown’s Robert Langdon books, which I devoured in high school.

However, my favorite series is, of course, Harry Potter. I was a the perfect age to read them when they were coming out; I read the first book when I was nine, and the last book was released when I was 17. I grew up with Harry in so many ways, and I still feel the same magic upon opening Sorcerer’s Stone as I did when I was in fourth grade. They were more than books to me. I waited in vain for my Hogwarts letter when I turned 11, made wands out of chopsticks, and played elaborate games with my sister, in which we went to Hogwarts and became best friends with Fred and George (because they would be the funnest friends, right?).

My favorite book from the series is Order of the Phoenix, although I’m not entirely sure why. I love how dark the series becomes at this point, and there is something really compelling about Harry’s sense of isolation in this book. It’s also probably because I was 14 and angsty when I first read this, and my own teenage rage meshed nicely with Harry’s. But we’ll never know for sure.

Part of the reason I don’t read series anymore is that there are so many amazing and varied books out there, just waiting to be read. I want to sample as much as I can, so I suppose I tend not to tie myself to one ongoing story when there are thousands of other stories to be discovered! However, I would like to try reading P.G. Wodehouse’s Jeeves and Wooster series. They sound like great fun!

What’s your favorite series?

11 thoughts on “Musing Mondays: Book Series

  1. I’m not huge on series myself, because I feel like they start to lose steam after a while. Notable exceptions to the rule for me are Harry Potter (of course!) and The Outlander Series by Diana Gabaldon. I read the Sookie Stackhouse books out of habit at this point. I’m terribly indecisive and can never choose favorites out of a series though.

    • Perhaps series work better when they are limited to a certain number of books, like the Harry Potter books. I can see how a series could lose steam when the overarching plot isn’t being driven toward a conclusion. Did Sookie Stackhouse write the series the Vampire Diaries TV show is based on?

      Choosing a favorite is so difficult, especially when it comes to series you’ve read multiple times. I’ve read each of the Harry Potter books so many times and at different ages that each book has probably been a favorite at one time or another!

  2. My favorite series is also a set of children’s books: Swallows and Amazons by Arthur Ransome. I also love Wooster and Jeeves and would definitely recommend reading them. The Wooster and Jeeves books all stand on their own (and many of them are short stories), so there’s no need to worry about needing to read all of them. Unless you want to of course!

    • I’ve heard such great things about Wooster and Jeeves that I would really like to read them at some point! It’s good to know that they stand alone pretty well; it makes entering a series less intimidating 🙂

  3. My favorite series is The Dark Tower by Stephen King. If I had to pick a favorite book from the series, it would probably be one of the first two–either The Gunslinger or The Drawing of the Three. I’m re-reading them right now, though, so my favorite might change.

What say you?

