Musing Monday: Weird Books

This week MizB asks bloggers to muse upon the question:

What is the weirdest/strangest/craziest book you’ve ever read?

This is might be a tad unoriginal, but my “weird book” pick is a Murakami novel. Don’t get me wrong, I really like his books. Mostly. Norwegian Wood is one of my favorites, Kafka on the Shore is intriguing, and The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle is meandering and slightly baffling. But the book that screams “weirdest” at me is A Wild Sheep Chase. Let me share the back cover copy:

“A marvelous hybrid of mythology and mystery, A Wild Sheep Chase is the extraordinary literary thriller that launched Haruki Murakami’s international reputation. It begins simply enough: A twenty-something advertising executive receives a postcard from a friend and casually appropriates the image for an insurance company’s advertisement. What he doesn’t realize is that included in the pastoral scene is a mutant sheep with a star on its back, and in using this photo he has unwittingly captured the attention of a man in black who offers a menacing ultimatum: find the sheep or face dire consequences. Thus begins a surreal and elaborate quest that takes our hero from the urban haunts of Tokyo to the remote and snowy mountains of northern Japan, where he confronts not only the mythological sheep, but the confines of tradition and the demons deep within himself. Quirky and utterly captivating, A Wild Sheep Chase is Murakami at his astounding best.”

This is only a tiny glimpse of the weirdness that lies between the covers. It was very strange and a little confusing; I remember being confused about what I had just absorbed even after finishing the book. I can accept talking cats and prostitutes who only service their clients in the mental realm, but this sheep thing was a little bit too far out there for me.

What’s the weirdest/strangest book you have ever read?

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading

15 thoughts on “Musing Monday: Weird Books

  1. I think one of the weirdest books I’ve read is the one I struggled with this week: The Pleasures of Men by Kate Wiliams. I really wanted to like it but it was oh-so twisted and dark (and you know me, I’m all for dark) that I decided to give up. It made me feel disgusted, bad, anxious etc.

    • I hadn’t heard of that book, but I just looked it up, and yikes! It does sound rather dark and unpleasant. Hopefully your next book will be the dark-in-a-good-way kind. Speaking of, I can’t remember, have you read Gone Girl?

      • Nope but everyone keeps talking about it and I’m intrigued! I’m now reading more Kate Morton (The Distant Hours). Hers is the kind of cozy reading that does not demand much of you as you read…

        • Since you like thrillers, I think you would enjoy it! I don’t usually read thrillers, but I found it to be totally captivating. The characters are fascinating and screwed up, and the alternating perspectives between the husband’s narrative and the wife’s diary is really interesting.

          I haven’t heard of Kate Morton’s books, but cozy/non-demanding books seem like a good way to nurse the reading slump 🙂

    • No problem, it’s fun to further explore the lovely book blogosphere!

      Haha I’m glad we have that in common! Although I don’t tend to think I like Murakami’s books despite their weirdness, but rather because they are so different from anything else I’ve ever read. They just bring something different to the table, and that makes them fun to explore 🙂

  2. Oooh, that book does sound really interesting! I actually can’t decide what the weirdest book I’ve read is, but I’m going to think about it…it could make for a fun post, if I can make a decision on the matter. 😛

What say you?

