Quotable Fridays

Hello all! I thought I’d introduce a new segment on my blog. Each Friday, I will feature a beautiful quote from a book I love, moving words from an author, or an insightful comment about books and reading. So kick back, relax, and start off your weekend with this quote from one of my favorite books, The Great Gatsby:

“All night the saxophones wailed the hopeless comment of the Beale Street Blues while a hundred pairs of gold and silver slippers shuffled the shining dust. At the grey tea hour there were always rooms that throbbed incessantly with this low, sweet fever, while fresh faces drifted here and there like rose petals blown by the sad horns around the floor.”

I love the way Fitzgerald evokes the opulence and hedonism of the ’20s while also conveying the emptiness of it all. And, of course, I’m a sucker for alliteration, and “silver slippers shuffled the shining dust” is as good as they come!

10 thoughts on “Quotable Fridays

  1. Love the new addition to the blog and am glad to see you’re still keeping it up 🙂 I’ve been wanting to read The Great Gatsby for such a long time and now I have even more incentive to do so!

    • Thanks, I’ve been enjoying your blog too. And congrats on you new job! You should definitely read The Great Gatsby; the writing is absolutely stunning.

What say you?

