In Which I Appreciate Some Inspiring Readers

Hello all! In the last few weeks, one of my favorite bloggers, Matt of Wanton Creation, put me up for two awards, the Inspiring Blog Award and the Reader Appreciation Award! Matt (also known as The Other Watson) has a fantastic blog, where he writes about everything from poetry to hilarious books to his favorite types of tea in a wonderfully humorous voice.

It seems the Inspiring Blog Award asks participants to provide seven facts about myself and then nominate seven people who inspire me.

Seven facts:

1. I occasionally pretend I can play guitar. Despite three years of lessons, the only songs I can play with any vestige of confidence are Wish You Were Here by Pink Floyd (all confidence is lost during the solo-ish bit), Norwegian Wood by the Beatles, Aqualung by Jethro Tull, and Such Great Heights by Iron & Wine.

2. Coffee is necessary for me to turn back into a human being in the morning.

3. Last summer I spent three weeks on the road with my sister and a friend of ours, driving from Buffalo, NY to California and back. We had the most amazing time hiking at Arches in Utah and Yosemite in California, and exploring San Francisco. However, this trip taught me not to trust my GPS; it took us onto a dirt mountain road, on which my car broke down, stranding us in a tiny California town for three days and forcing us to miss out on the planned Big Sur portion of our trip. It was heartbreaking.

4. I used to horseback ride and would love to get back into it. I began riding at age nine and actually chose my college partly because it has an equestrian club, which allowed me to continue riding in college (I have never had my own horse). However, I haven’t ridden in nearly a year — I was too busy and broke to fit it into my senior year. Hopefully I’ll be back in the saddle again someday! I really love it.

5. I would love to get a job at some type of literacy organization. I think reading is incredibly important (obviously) and would really like to work toward advancing and promoting literacy. I majored in communication studies with a focus on public relations, so working in a PR function for a literacy organization would be my dream job!

6. I love the smell of jasmine.

7. My favorite music artist is Bob Dylan. I don’t think I need to write about what an incredible songwriter is! His songs are so poetic, moving, through provoking, andΒ beautiful. I just can’t get enough.

Nominees:

Layla of Be Not Afeard. Layla is a writer currently working on multiple pieces in different formats. She blogs about her own writing journey as well as tips for other writers. Definitely inspiring for other creative writers!

Shannon of Isle of Books. Shannon and I are in much the same boat, both of us graduating from college and being unsure what the future will bring. I always enjoy her book reviews, and she also features some really wonderful poetry!

Alice of Reading Rambo. I love her blog because she Tells It Like It Is, and her posts are always hilarious!

Beth of Bookworm Meets Bookworm. Her posts are always thoughtful and well-written, and one of her most recent posts is extra inspiring — she just launched an Etsy store,Β Scout & Score, which sells really cute vintage kitchenware!

Adam of Roofbeam Reader. He writes great reviews and is inspiring for hosting the Pay it Forward Giveaway and his participation in the Random Acts of Kindness book exchange; he always seems to give more than he receives.

Hannah of So Obsessed With. Hannah writes book reviews with a really fun format — bonus points for the Gilmore Girls reference!

Jeremy of Beltway Literature. His Sunday Salon posts are always fun to read, and his reviews have introduced me to some books I would really like to pick up!

There seem to be a few versions of the Reader Appreciation Award floating around, but I’ll go with Matt’s interpretation and write about what I’ve been up to lately.

Well, two weeks ago, I graduated from college with a BA in Communication Studies and moved back home with my family. Since moving home, I’ve been doing a lot of sitting on my back deck with a book, walking my dog, and looking for jobs.

For Memorial Day, I went camping with my parents, boyfriend, and dog, and had a really nice time hiking and sitting around the campfire.

Best of all, I took a little trip to Boston with my boyfriend! We’ve been talking for a long time about taking a trip together (Boston, New York City, and Chicago are all within a day’s drive of us), and when he was offered a full-time job to start this Monday, we knew he had better plan a trip quickly! We settled on Boston and spent two amazing days there. I actually lived near the city from ages five to nine, and it was nice to confirm that I don’t just love Boston because of my fun childhood memories — it really is a fantastic city! Tom and I saw the Red Sox play at Fenway Park (they lost), ate cannoli at the famous Mike’s Pastry, walked a little ways along the Freedom Trail, sampled a few beers on a tour of the Sam Adams brewery, took an evening stroll along the Harborwalk, made a trip to Harvard, and wandered through the Boston Commons and Beacon Hill. We even did a little book tourism, which I’ll write about in a separate post. I could not have asked for a better few days!

Now, on to the nominations!

I think of all the awards I’ve seen bouncing around the blogosphere, the Reader Appreciation Award has to be my favorite. The readers who take a moment to ‘like’ or comment on a post are really what make blogging fun, and I’m excited to receive this prompt to say a little “thank you” for enriching my blogging experience. So, thanks! You are all wonderful and I’m so glad to have “met” you πŸ™‚

Jillian of A Room of One’s Own
Layla of Be Not Afeard
Amritorupa of Rivers I Have Known
Heather of Between the Covers
Somersaulting Through Life (I’m sorry, I don’t actually know your name!)
Amanda of Simpler Pastimes

16 thoughts on “In Which I Appreciate Some Inspiring Readers

  1. Thanks so much! I really appreciate the mention!

    Coffee and I go hand in hand as well πŸ˜‰

    Dying to do a cross-country road trip, and sad to hear about the snafu in yours, but hey, bad experiences make great stories, right? :p

    Thanks again!

    • No problem, I love reading your blog!

      Ahh road trips are the best! Haha, yes it definitely made a good story, and we were actually stuck in a fairly good place — about an hour from Yosemite by bus! So we missed out on Big Sur, but got some extra time in Yosemite, which was a plus!

  2. Love the facts about yourself! πŸ™‚ The four songs you can play are all awesome songs – geeze you have good taste in music! Hahhaha. I have been thinking a lot lately about getting my guitar back out and trying to get back into playing it…it’s been a few years though and I recently discovered that I forget almost everything about playing it. Hmmm….

    • Haha thanks! You have good taste too! I’m pretty rusty right now as well (I haven’t taken lessons in a year, and I’ve been slacking since I no longer have to practice… same with this blog, actually. Oops.) What kind of music do you like to play?

      • Hahaha, yeah it becomes easy to slack off when the pressure isn’t there anymore. I have the same trouble with my fiction writing (every November I have no trouble with it, hahaha). I used to play all sorts really…my nice guitar (I have two crappy ones) is a semi-acoustic, so it’s fairly versatile I guess. It’s just a shame I am currently not πŸ˜›

  3. Thank you, Leah!

    Your road trip out to California sounds like it was a lot of fun. I’d love to take a trip like that sometime, though I don’t know when I’ll ever have the chance. Good luck with the job hunt!

    • It was so much fun; I’m dying to do it again. This country is so incredibly beautiful and diverse, and I want to see ALL of it. I hope you find a way to take a trip!

What say you?

