May Reads

May was quite an exciting month, as evidenced by my lack of blog posts over the last few weeks. The first few weeks of May were spent wrapping up my final year of college — taking exams, writing papers, giving presentations (and, of course, enjoying happy hour and dancing the night away with some great friends). On May 19, my hard work over the last four years paid off, and I graduated summa cum laude with a B.A. in Communication Studies!

Since then, I’ve moved out of my off-campus apartment and back into the house I did most of my growing-up in, and I have mostly been taking it easy. After four years with my nose to the grindstone, I wanted some time to relax, and it has been lovely.

However, it’s time to get back to real life — back to blogging, and back to my search for gainful employment! I’m hoping continuing to write this blog will keep my brain from turning to mush, keep me feeling challenged, and give me some purpose while I try to figure out what to do with my new degree. I spent some time evaluating where I want to go with this blog now that it’s no longer required coursework, and I think I have a pretty good idea of my future blogging schedule and content, which will be implemented once I catch up with all my book posts!

Now on to the books!

Books read
Uncle Tom’s Children – Richard Wright
Bleak House – Charles Dickens (Unputdownables read-along)
The Last Nude – Ellis Avery
A Tree Grows in Brooklyn – Betty Smith

Pages read
This month: 1,368
Year to date: 6,438

Books read YTD
Completed: 18
Progress toward 50 book goal: 36% completed, 2 books behind pace

Books added to my collection
I received the nicest gift early in the month from a woman in my marketing class! You can read the full post about it here, but in a few words, Ellen gave me 10 books, for which I am supremely grateful!
Another World – Pat Barker
The Poinsonwood Bible – Barbara Kingsolver
The Reader – Bernhard Schlink
The Almost Moon – Alice Sebold
The Known World – Edward P. Jones
Small Steps – Louis Sachar
Stranger in a Strange Land – Robert A Heinlein
The Bonesetter’s Daughter – Amy Tan
The Memory Keeper’s Daughter – Kim Edwards
One Thousand White Women – Jim Fergus

I also purchased a copy of Pride and Prejudice. I first read it five years ago and really liked it, and then my silly mother (goodness knows I love her) left it on an airplane. I’ve had a craving to re-read it this summer, so I picked up a Barnes & Noble Classics edition!

June goals/plans
Reading plans: as I mentioned in a previous post, I don’t like to set reading goals, so my only planned read for June is On the Road by Jack Kerouac, which I will be reading along with Wallace over at Unputdownables. It’s not too late to sign up (the post for the first reading section will be held June 8), and it’s going to be really fun! This will be my third time reading On the Road, and I’m really excited to read along with some fellow bloggers! I can’t wait to hear what everyone else has to say about the book.
Blogging goals: In June, I hope to post at least three times each week, and by the end of the month, I hope to have caught up on my book posts. If I do this, I should be able to implement my updated blog plan at the beginning of July!

What did you read in May? Any plans for June?

8 thoughts on “May Reads

  1. Looks like we’re in a very similar boat! I graduated a few weeks ago as well and am living at home, searching for a job. Good luck in your job search! And I’ve never read On the Road, but I think I’ll check in on that blogger discussion of it to decide if I should read it right away or wait. Knowing there’s going to be a movie version has tempted me (because of course I couldn’t see it without reading the book first)!

    • Congrats on graduating, and good luck on your job search! Yes, now would be a great time to read On The Road, with the movie coming out soon (hopefully Kristen Stewart won’t botch it too much). This will be my second read-along with Unputdownables, and the first (Bleak House by Charles Dickens) was really fun! I definitely recommend checking it out 🙂

  2. Congratulations on graduating! Fantastic!

    In May I read: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night, The Prince, Insurgent, Angel Killer, The Witness, and started Leon Uris’ The Haj.

    In June I hope to finish The Haj, The Gargoyle, and Methland.

    • Thanks! Ooh, what did you think of the Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time? I read it sometime during high school, and I think I liked it?

      • I thought it was extremely interesting. Practically every “rule of writing” is broken in it (which, as a writer, I found quite terrifying) and yet it’s still an incredibly compelling read…

        We could have used a spoiler alert for those of us who haven’t read Hounds of the Baskervilles though :p

  3. Congratulations on graduation! Good luck on your job search. How is In the Garden Of Beasts? I’ve considered picking it up a couple times, but still haven’t done it.

    • Thank you!
      It’s very good so far; I’m about 200 pages in, and I’ve already learned so much about how Hitler was able to take power — why people supported him, how the world let him get away with his early atrocities. However, it is quite heavy! I typically like to read only one book at a time, but I found myself needing to take a break from In the Garden of Beasts today to read something lighter!

What say you?

