I Received the Nicest Gift Today

As I mention on my “about” page, I started this blog in January as a project for my Social Media Marketing class; we were each assigned to pick any topic we were interested in to blog about over the course of the semester so we could learn firsthand about putting social media strategies into practice. I am really glad we did this project; I have really enjoyed running this blog, mostly because of the connections I have made! I love the sense of community in the blogosphere, and I have discovered some great blogs that I really like to read. And, of course, I’ve learned more about the world of social media. Today was the last day of class (oh dear, this is sounding like an “it’s been real, but the class is over so I’m done blogging” post — but you can’t get rid of me that easily), and I received a really wonderful surprise when I walked into the classroom at the ungodly hour of 8:30 this morning.

We have a few professional women in the class who work in marketing and are furthering their education, and they have provided some really interesting perspectives about how what we’re learning is of real use in the professional world. One of them, Ellen (follow her @HighlandCat on Twitter!) has told me before that she likes my blog and that she’s really happy to see a young person who so loves to read — and to read the classics! It was really nice to hear.

This morning I walked into class and was incredibly shocked to be presented with a big bag full of books! Ellen told me she was going to sell them or otherwise get rid of them, and then thought I might like to have them! I was incredibly touched that she thought of me, and I can’t wait to read each of them. It looks like a really great collection of books, including a Booker Prize winner, a Pulitzer Prize winner, and many best sellers.

This is what I found in the bag:

 

 

 

 

 

Thank you, Ellen, for your kindness and generosity, and for enabling my addiction to the written word!

Has anyone else read any of these books? If so, what did you think?

8 thoughts on “I Received the Nicest Gift Today

  1. I loved The Poisonwood Bible and The Known World. I read The Almost Moon some years ago, and if I remember correctly, it was good. Although I also love Amy Tan’s writing, I haven’t read The Bonesetter’s Daughter, yet (it’s on my TBR pile). This is an amazing bunch of books!

  2. Oh wow, how nice is that?! That is awesome! And glad to hear you’re staying on blogging – you’re an awesome blogger!
    I haven’t read any of those books, though a couple are on my tbr list! There’s definitely some good books in there by the looks of it! 😀

  3. What a wonderful gift! I haven’t read any of the books, but I have heard good things about the Memory Keeper’s Daughter. Also, The Poisonwood Bible has been on my wishlist for forever!

What say you?

