March Reads

March was kind of a crazy month! What with a family emergency, picking up an extra shift at work each week, and having just as much coursework as ever, I haven’t had a ton of time for reading, but I did manage to read some good books!

I’m also getting more into blogging, and traffic to this little site really grew this month. I really want to thank everyone who reads my posts, and especially those who comment! I love reading your feedback, and I have learned some really interesting things and gained some great perspectives. I have been so surprised by the sense of community in the blogosphere; I love that everyone seems to support each other, and I’m amazed at how it brings people together. Through this blog, I have talked to people as far away as India and Australia, and that is just so cool to me! I was even nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award, which is a huge honor that I plan to post more formally about in the next few days. So thank you, everyone, for taking the time out of your day to read this little blog 🙂

Books read:
No One is Here Except All of Us – Ramona Ausubel
Swamplandia! – Karen Russell
Howl – Allen Ginsberg

Pages read:
This month: 1,094
Year to date: 3,525

Books read YTD
Completed: 9
Including current reads: 13

Books read for challenges
Bleak House – Charles Dickens (Unputdownables read-a-long, March through May)

Books added to my collection
I was actually really good about not buying books this month… until I went to the Buffalo Small Press Book Fair and came home with lovely copies of:
Circulation – Tim Horvath (novella)
The Really Funny Thing About Apathy – Chelsea Martin (short stories)
Modern Love – Andrew Scott (short fiction)
Sula – Toni Morrison

April reading goals
In April I plan to finish reading Uncle Tom’s Children, Slaughterhouse-Five, and And So it Goes, and keep reading Bleak House with the goal of finishing it mid-May.

I will also be reading The Women of Brewster Place by Gloria Naylor and Saint Maybe by Anne Tyler for my Modern American Lit class, which I am totally loving. I’ve never heard of either of these books, but I’m looking forward to reading some lit by female authors!

I might accompany them with Sister Outsider by Audre Lorde, and I would also like to start The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde.

2 thoughts on “March Reads

  1. I read Sula last year… it’s as haunting as any of Morrisson’s books…have you read Paradise?
    OOh, and yay for Dorian Gray!

What say you?

