Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Covers

This week, The Broke and the Bookish ask bloggers to list their Top 10 Favorite Covers, so today I will be breaking the age-old rule and judging a book by its cover. Since The Broke and the Bookish encourage everyone to be as specific (or general) as they wish when making their lists, I will be posting my favorite book covers from 2011. Why not 2012? Simply because the year has barely begun! There are already dozens of gorgeous 2012 book covers floating around the Interwebs, but I prefer to look back on an entire year of book covers — and 2011 had some pretty great ones!

I have actually only read two of these books so far and own a third (“The Leftovers,” “Bossypants” and Swamplandia, respectively) but I will definitely be adding some of these to my TBR list. I have no idea what most of them are about (yet), but they must be good if adorned with such beautiful art, right?

Here are my top ten favorite 2011 book covers for your viewing pleasure:

Update: Because these covers are so intriguing, I’ve added links to a review of each book; just click on the cover photo. All reviews except “The Borrower” are from the New York Times, simply because their reviews tend to come up first.

The Leftovers by Tom Perrotta

For a post-Rapture book, the smoke drifting from the shoes is perfect.

Bossypants by Tina Fey

I love Tina Fey, and this cover is wonderful and hilarious.

Swamplandia by Karen Russell

I really like the vintage feel and the text seeming to fall into the gator’s mouth.

The Uncoupling by Meg Wolizter

Beautiful use of tilt-shift photography and lovely typography.

A Jane Austen Education by William Deresiewicz

The Victorian cut-out doll is such a cute idea! Very interesting and attractive.

Mr. Fox by Helen Oyeyemi

I love the color scheme and minimal style. The art makes me really curious about this book!

The Psychopath Test by Jon Ronson

The contrast and duality is great; it seems to fit really well with the subject matter.

The Free World by David Bezmozgys

I just really love travel and all its trappings. The art really makes me want to pick this up.

The Sisters Brothers by Patrick DeWitt

Such a bold, eye-grabbing and intriguing cover! Great design.

The Borrower by Rebecca Makkai

I would love to be in that car… except I would want to get out and climb all over and inside the books!

What say you?

