Bleak House Read-Along

Bleak House by Charles DickensI will be joining my first read-along and also reading my first Dickins novel over the next three months! The “Bleak House” read-along is hosted by Wallace (Unputdownables), and I’m super excited about it for a few reasons:

1. The concept of a read-along seems like a long-distance book club, so that should be fun. I love discussing books, but I don’t have any bookish friends (that I see at all regularly anymore — Lindsay, I need you in my life!), so I’m definitely looking forward to discussing the weekly readings with other readers over on Wallace’s blog.

2. Honestly, I probably wouldn’t have picked up “Bleak House” if it weren’t for this read-along. This might be a terrible thing to say, but I have never had a huge interest in reading Dickens. Don’t get me wrong: I really am looking forward to reading it! However, it is not something I would have chosen to read on my own. I am looking at this read-along as an opportunity to expand my horizons, and I really think I will get a lot more out of the book by reading it as part of a group than if I were to read it on my own. Also, I know following a reading schedule and discussing my progress (and others’) each weak will be a huge motivator for me to keep reading, so I should be able to make it through this huge tome.

I was planning on reading the introduction (I have the wonderful Barnes & Noble Classics edition) and doing a small post about the book’s background earlier this weekend to kick off the read-along. However, my sister has been in the hospital since Thursday morning, and I’ve been back in town to be with her since Saturday, so I haven’t even started reading the introduction, let alone the actual story. The last few days have been rough, but now she’s well enough that I’m planning on heading back to college tomorrow night. I hate to be behind already, but she comes first! Hopefully I won’t have too much trouble catching up when I get back to Buffalo.

Like I said above, I will be participating in the weekly discussions on Unputdownables, but I haven’t decided yet how often I will be posting about “Bleak House” on this blog. Possibly every two weeks?

The reading schedule is below:

Week #/ dates :: Place in which to STOP

Week One/ February 24- March 1 :: Chapter 6
Week Two/ March 2-8 :: Chapter 10
Week Three/ March 9-15 ::Chapter 15
Week Four/ March 16-22 :: Chapter 20
Week Five/ March 23- 29 :: Chapter 24
Week Six/ March 30- April 5 :: Chapter 30
Week Seven/ April 6-12 :: Chapter 34
Week Eight/ April 13-19 :: Chapter 39
Week Nine/ April 20-26 :: Chapter 45
Week Ten/ April 27- May 3 :: Chapter 51
Week Eleven/ May 4- 10 :: Chapter 56
Week Twelve/ May 11-17 :: Chapter 61
Week Thirteen/ May 18-24 :: The End

If you feel like joining in, I don’t believe it’s too late to sign up. Pop on over to Unputdownables to find out more and register!

What say you?

